3dmark05 or cpu problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2006, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default 3dmark05 or cpu problem

i have overclocked me SD 3700 to 2.74 ghz and it runs stable on OCCT and superpi. but when i run the cpu test in 3dmark05 it doesnt even hit 1 fps. why is this? i have a Zalman 9500 hsf so overheating isnt a problem.
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

plus its not really effecting my vid card scores cause i get an 8400, which is pretty normal.
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 10:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what do you get at stock speeds?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 10:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

at least 1-10 fps, but now i dont even get 1 fps.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

so it's your overclocking that is causing your score to go lower.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

heh thats wierd...i set everything back to stock and it still runs below 1 fps. whatever. as long as it doesnt effect my games.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 07:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

try reinstalling ur mobo drivers and the benchmark (probebly just the benchmark)
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 12:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default

Okay chill out guys


the cpu tests are meant to run between 1-3 fps you need not worry.

Your overclock.. underclock... will never affect it.. the point is to completely remove the graphics part to test your cpu.. and since its a graphics test its running extremely slow by processing power.. I believe even the highest of cpus now a days will maybe only hit 3 fps..


Unless it crashes you need not worry about the fps.. or unless your score is lower overclocked compared to stock, which would be weird.
__________________
System Specs:
-Msi Neo Platinum 2 Nforce 3 Ultra
-Amd 3200+ @ 2.6ghz (260fsb x10 4xhtt)
-Ocz EL Platinum Revision 2 (3 3 3 10 @ 260 =DDR520)
-Ultra X-connect 500W Modular Power Supply
-BFG 6800gt OC @ 420/1.1
-Western Digital Caviar 200gb 8mb Sata Hard drive
-NEC Black DVD Burner
-Logitech X-530 5:1 Speaker System
-ViewSonic G90FB Black 19\"
-Kingwin Mutant X Silver/Gray w/ window
-Thermalright Xp-90 Cpu running Idle @28c Load @ Highest 51c Average 39c
-Windows Xp Home Edition Service Pack 2
**Whimmy wham wham wozzle!**
crossphyr is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 04:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

hmm back in august in 3dmark03 i used to get in the airplane one a good amount of fps in the cpu test, like 100ish fps, now i only get 1-10 with a dual core opteron

But i say its probably 3dmark, reinstall it
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

k thanks, as long as it isnt effecting my performance in games im not ganna worry about it.
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.