3DMark05 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 09:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Whats your temps hitting? Use rivatuners hardware monitor, let it run while you run a benchmark, so when you close down the bench it shows a graph of what it was hitting during peak loads.....if you try to go to nvidia utility, but the time you get to open it, the temp drops 10C pretty much instantly.

This would probably be the first eVGA I've seen not hit Ultra speeds....you might look into investing in an NV Silencer....or purposely killing your card and RMA'ing it

2nd option would be somewhat dangerous though lol
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 09:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
This would probably be the first eVGA I've seen not hit Ultra speeds....you might look into investing in an NV Silencer....or purposely killing your card and RMA'ing it
LOL, I once purposely blew a set of speakers because I didn't like the way they sounded and took them back

It is wierd that it won't OC any better. Definately check your temps like Nubios said and see what you have. You might also want to try the core higher with the memory back at 1000 and see what happens.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 10:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I tried the core higher with the memory back at 1000 and it is still the same problem. I'll get rivatuner and see what's up though.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 06:49 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
I can't begin to even figure out why 6800 gt's do what they do, lmao.
Yo dale! your back, warzuuup


as for ur graphics card ? or w/e as nubius said, uve oc'd it too high without making correct adjustments in the voltages n shiz.. so maybe you should learn how to OC properly? Just a suggestion, no offence intended
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 07:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Yo dale! your back, warzuuup


as for ur graphics card ? or w/e as nubius said, uve oc'd it too high without making correct adjustments in the voltages n shiz.. so maybe you should learn how to OC properly? Just a suggestion, no offence intended
Bah what the hell is that post about? Welcoming dale!? you crazy sumumma......he can't just 'change' voltage like it's some easy thing to do sucka, you gotta volt mod if you want to do that.........all overclocking GPU's requires is raising the core and memory which he's trying to do, yet apparently his card just doesn't want to OC
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 09:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Leadtek 1
eVGA 0
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 06:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VIII
as for ur graphics card ? or w/e as nubius said, uve oc'd it too high without making correct adjustments in the voltages n shiz.. so maybe you should learn how to OC properly? Just a suggestion, no offence intended
I know how to overclock properly man. I have overclocked RAM, my CPU, and my FSB multiple times with multiple different numbers just for the learning sake. The easiest is overclocking your graphics card, because all you do is raise the frequency (like Nubius said) with a program like rivatuner. My problem is that it won't go past a certain number that just so happens to be very low in terms of overclocking a 6800GT. I can't change the voltage without a volt mod, which I do not plan on doing (also, as Nubius said).

Back to my problem. Because you overclock graphics cards through windows, would a reformat maybe help? I'm going to reformat anyway, so I was just wondering if I should try to get it to go higher after I reformat, or if it just won't go any further.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 06:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Leadtek 1
eVGA 0
yeah that's why my eVGA hit ultra speeds with stock cooler and is running 430/1150 currently and I know I'm not the only one here with it at atleast ultra also.

Quote:
Back to my problem. Because you overclock graphics cards through windows, would a reformat maybe help? I'm going to reformat anyway, so I was just wondering if I should try to get it to go higher after I reformat, or if it just won't go any further.
If reformating actually did anything I'd be very shocked.....this is the cards hardware itself simply not wanting to have the higher frequencies.......the windows environment wouldn't be doing anything.

You are making sure to raise the performance 3D right? and not like 2D or low power 3D on accident
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 06:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Yep... my only options are "standard 2D" and "performance 3D" and I am in the 3D.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 07:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

How long have you had it? Where did you get it from? Newegg RMA's without many questions. I bet if you sent it to them with something about it not working properly they would send you a new one.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.