3DMark03 Scores - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2005, 01:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default 3DMark03 Scores

I am new to overclocking my video card and just started playing with 3DMark03 today. I got my scores back from many different tweaks that I made over many hours today.

So great, I get this score, but I have nothing to compare it to. Can anyone tell me what a good score and a what a bad score might be?

All my tweaks were producing scores in the 4000's. I think my highest was in the 4500 range. Compared to posts from a year ago for my particular video card, that score seems great, but I don't know if it can hang with today's standards.

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice, 2.0 Ghz @ 2.4 Ghz
-eVGA e-GeForce 6200 AGP 128-bit 256 Mb (369/611)
__________________

snowpunk is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 01:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

well, it's not baaaad, persay, but it's not really that great. Your video card is the clear, clear, undeniably clear bottleneck. I ring up between 5500-5800 depending on how much of an OC'ing mood I'm in, but I have an x700. I'm not bragging, cause my card is by no means great, but I'd really feel good about my gaming if I landed in the 7000's. That would be all the power I'd need at the moment.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
Your video card is the clear, clear, undeniably clear bottleneck.
Explain.... ???
__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 01:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

What he means is that 4,500 is a good score for your system, no higher should be expected though. I used to get around 4,800 with my old Socket A setup - with a 6800 GT.

However, synthetic benchmarks like 3DMark, Aquamark et all should not be equated to actual run time performance in games. In other words, don't take it too seriously
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

I just unlocked the 4 locked pipelines using Rivatuner. This card is brand new and I'm very suprised it is using the old chip that allows me to tweak it. Anyways, with the pipelines unlocked my best 3DMark score is 5183 at 348/598.

Those setting seem low, and what I don't understand is when I move either settings up higher my score drops.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 02:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

what I mean is that your processor is very strong for gaming. The video card is holding back the system as a whole. BUT, in addition, if the video card is working for you in your games, then do not worry about upgrading. The only think I was saying is that the card is the weak spot for your benchmarks.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 02:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

yes u got a great gaming chip but the card is going to kill your gaming performance, you should look into a 6600gt if you can't any of the higher end cards, or even a 6800nu and unlock some pipes on it.
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 03:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Just realised you said 3DMark03, not 05, my bad.

Regardless, going by the Futuremark ORB that score seems about average for your setup.

But I stress: what is in-game performance like? If it's good enough for you, then fine. If not, you can look at an upgrade...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 03:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

doomuk, i take it you got a voltmodded water cooled 7800gtx to get that 05 score since its very hard to get a 7800 to do 10k without mods and excellent cooling. Sorry, bit off topic but that score caught my eye when i just finished lookin at a 10k on a 7800gtx that was volt modded and water cooled by a guy with an fx 55
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 04:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by snowpunk
I just unlocked the 4 locked pipelines using Rivatuner. This card is brand new and I'm very suprised it is using the old chip that allows me to tweak it. Anyways, with the pipelines unlocked my best 3DMark score is 5183 at 348/598.

Those setting seem low, and what I don't understand is when I move either settings up higher my score drops.
sometimes you just push your video card too far, and thats why you get lower scores. just go back a little, then run the test again
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.