3Dmark 03 or 05? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default 3Dmark 03 or 05?

Quick question: What should I download, 3Dmark 03 or 3Dmark 05?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

3DMark05 is more recent, and a 6600 GT should do very well on it....at least 3500. Both are real good benchmarks.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 06:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

both, and hell probably even 01 and aquamark while you're at it.

I bet your 6600GT gets around 3300 or so in 3dmark05

And possibly 8k or so in 3dmark03
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

What do the scores mean? How do I interpret the data into stats I can actually use?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you compare them with people with similar setups
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

So basically it just gives me a number. Is it testing the whole system or just the GPU?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 41
Send a message via ICQ to an0nym0us Send a message via AIM to an0nym0us
Default

it tests the GPU mainly, but i mean if you have your 6600GT on a socket A with 266 fsb it will be completely different than an A64 or P4 HT
__________________
Intel 550 - Abit AS8 - 1gb Corsair XMS - 6600GT - 74gb Raptor
--------------------------
Intel 520 - Intel 915PBL - 512mb Corsair DDR2 - X700 Pro - 160gb Seagate
--------------------------
Barton 2500+ - Gigabyte GA-7N400L - 1gb Corsair - 9600XT - 80gb Western Digital
--------------------------
Toshiba M35X-S149 - Intel 1.5ghz Celeron - 512mb PC2700 - 15.4\" widescreen - 60gb HD
an0nym0us is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

03 and 05 are basically just the GPU, 01 and aquamark test the system as a whole more
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.