32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2008, 07:35 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

guys you should use Windows Server 2008, it's based on the Vista kernel but is cut down and VERY stable, fast, and efficient! I'm only on 2gb ram at the moment and I swear it actually feels faster than my XP 32bit setup.

I also just ran 3dmark06 and got 2875 CPU points vs 2905 in XP Home. That's exactly a 1% difference which is well within the margin of error.

So far I haven't had any compatibility problems with anything since you use normal Vista drivers. I love it!
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 04:52 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

Quote:
guys you should use Windows Server 2008, it's based on the Vista kernel but is cut down and VERY stable, fast, and efficient! I'm only on 2gb ram at the moment and I swear it actually feels faster than my XP 32bit setup.

I also just ran 3dmark06 and got 2875 CPU points vs 2905 in XP Home. That's exactly a 1% difference which is well within the margin of error.

So far I haven't had any compatibility problems with anything since you use normal Vista drivers. I love it!
Haven't you heard about the major file corruption issues that people have been having with windows server 2008? It's supposed to be a pretty bad problem and microsoft wont have a fix until sometime this summer I believe.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 05:13 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

ermm, no I haven't. Can you point me to some of this info please.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:22 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

Gee where to begin?

Windows Home Server bug corrupts files - Engadget

Microsoft's Windows Home Server corrupts files

and even from microsoft themselves:

When certain programs are used to edit or transfer files that are stored on a Windows Home Server-based computer that has more than one hard drive, the files may become corrupted
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:23 AM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

hmm...looks like a rare problem and it also says for users with more than 1 drive. I'm only using 1 drive at the moment. I have all my important stuff on another partition and also backed up on the university server.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:52 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

A small problem for gamers but a huge problem for actual servers.. nothing to be worried about unless your cranking out tera after tera of expensive information for a business

One little 0 where a 1 is supposed to be and there goes $$
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 03:41 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
hmm...looks like a rare problem and it also says for users with more than 1 drive. I'm only using 1 drive at the moment. I have all my important stuff on another partition and also backed up on the university server.
I have 6 hard drives.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:26 AM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

and you are using Server 2008?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:51 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
and you are using Server 2008?
no, XP x64
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 11:57 AM   #30 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: 32K Broken in 3DMark06 / New WRs in 05, 03, and Aqua

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
But I don't want to move to Vista.
same here....
i might just get a difference hdd just for that, or just live without it.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.