300Mhz FSB - W00t! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 11:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Thanks to some, BAH! to others lol
Yes, the timings suck, but I do know I can run it 4-4-4-12 at 300Mhz as I have done so with a 3:4 FSB:RAM divider. But it's DDR2, what can you do, the timings inheritly suck

Quote:
On the pic it says though: voltage 1.671 (not 1.55)?
Yeah, TBH, I get confused on that too. It is 1.55 in BIOS, 1.67 in CPU-z and then like 1.5 in Asus probe LOL, I don't think I ever know my true Windows vcore. Is that a mobo bug or is that normal

Quote:
That's pretty bad considering DDR modules can run 300MHz at 2.5-3-3-7 if you know what you're doing....this mainly of course applies to TCCD chips.
Yeah, but let's see you do it with 1.85 vdimm!!

Edit: I just noticed this:
Quote:
the bus speed is 1200? that would make it "3.5 pumbed" ? ...enlighten me.
I am not following, 300x4=1200
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 01:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Holy hell nice OC. And that is 3.4 stock? Almost 1GHZ OC, I guess Prescott cores are great in P4's What cooling do you use?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 01:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Idiotec, I dont remember if I asked you or not, but what kind of cooling are you rocking up in the hizzy?
Him is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 02:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Idiotec, I dont remember if I asked you or not, but what kind of cooling are you rocking up in the hizzy?
I have the Tower112 Heat sink with a 92mm fan. It is pretty decent air cooling.

http://www.frozencpu.com/cpu-tta-20.html

It's a heavy ***** but its all copper

Quote:
Holy hell nice OC. And that is 3.4 stock? Almost 1GHZ OC, I guess Prescott cores are great in P4's What cooling do you use?
Yes, 3.4Ghz stock. The prescotts due OC well as long as you can keep the cooling under control
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 02:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Nice, and you're getting 47C loaded on that? Thats a nice cool temp. I shluld prolly get lower than that on my water rig than.
Him is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 02:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Nice, and you're getting 47C loaded on that? Thats a nice cool temp. I shluld prolly get lower than that on my water rig than.
I get 47C load at 3.8Ghz, not 4.2Ghz. It actually didn't change going from 3.73 to 3.8, that is why I increased my 24/7 OC. And TBH, I haven't fully loaded it at 4.2, all I have done is ran Super PI just as a test. 4.2 is not a 24/7 OC . I am still just doing a lot of testing. The 300fsb was mainly a test of the mobo. What I would like to get to is 4Ghz, sticking with the x14 multi so I would have 14x286=4Ghz at 1:1 DDR2 572 with 3-3-3-9 timings. If I can get that 24/7 stable I will be happy
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 02:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I looked at the vdimm the first time and was thinking "1.85v?!?!" and then I of course remembered that you are running DDR2 which accounts for the really loose timings. Not sure I would go beyond 3-3-3-8 as far as timings go regardless of FSB speed increase, but I am on DDR so as I said it's a totally different boat.

Nice that there are a couple people here who aren't afraid to get their feet wet and try new overclock settings though. I still need to get used to the god damn DFI memory settings and make good use of this week 15 baby...
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 02:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I got my 3000+ venice to 2.4...whoop-de-doo. I am gonna go a lot higher, try to get it to 3 on stock cooling, it might happen
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I still have to build mine and burn it in. I've had my friggen board for MONTHS and have yet to use it. All I'm waiting for is my pump (Had to RMA my other one, didnt work) and I'm going to slap it all in a temporary case and start the OCing.
Him is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
I still need to get used to the god damn DFI memory settings and make good use of this week 15 baby...
If I remember right you have TCCD or TCC5 right? Either one should yeild some nice results.

I am predicting 300x10 at 2.5-3-3-7 1T
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.