3000+ Winchester limit on air??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2005, 05:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default 3000+ Winchester limit on air???

Hi all,
can anybody help me please, I seem to be hitting a brick wall on the stability issue of my Winchester 3000+ stable now @2.3 but have had it up to 2430mhz not stable on games, I know it will go higher just need to get closer to the ceiling than I am at the moment. settings at the moment are HT=3 8x287=2296mhz, g-skill pc3200 mem@166 (1t) 2.5-4-3-6 bus is at 3x287=862.5 below the magic 1000 overclock is 488mhz good but I know there is more does anyone have a magic formula or settings to try please???
__________________

Pistyll is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 07:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Raise the voltage, loosen timings.....
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

By how much would you suggest I raise the Vcore to??? What about the memory timings I am not too hot on timings to be quite honest they fuc^%&* confuse me no end I have 2x 512meg modules pc3200 G-Skill 2-3-3-6 timings as stock part nos
F1-3200PHU2-1GBLA
0502000505
0502000506

Any suggestions would be appreciated as I know there is more to be had from this chip I just need to keep it stable at higher clock settings. What does the hidden menu in MSI mobo bios do have you any idea if that will help stabilise my rig??

Many Thanks
Pistyll is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You have LA's, those should hit nice clocks. Your timings are all jacked right now. Try like 2.5-3-3-7 1T. You should be safe at vdimm up to 2.8-2.9. At that, 250 should be easy for that RAM.

What's your vcore at?
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

yeah LAs should be able to do 300MHz pretty easily...be lucky you got some man, since they are finally gone now for good...they should be doing 2-2-2-5 stock though so you may wanna check up on that

But yeah, there isn't any magic formula...unless you want to read the stickies
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 09:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Hi,

Changed timings as suggested to 2.5-3-3-7 1t from 2.5-4-3-6 1t but my benches for memory in everest have dropped in performance why is this?? my vcore is at 1.55 and bios will not allow any higher. I read a review on the web that was testing my exact memory modules and they said that the best timings for these modules in terms of performance were 2.5-4-3-6 1t and this would appear to be bourne out by everest, however by using the 2.5-3-3-7 1t timings will this enable me to increase system clock from 287, as I have it at the moment, up towards 300 with stability???
Pistyll is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 12:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

That doesn't make sense it would lower your sandra scores, but anyways. The point is you should be able to clock them higher.

Put HTT back down and put the RAM to 1:1 and see how far they can go. Like I said, you can go 2.8-2.9 vdimm safely, so raise that as needed.

As far as your CPU OC, there isn't a ton you can do if your maxed on vcore. One thing to consider is you're running high HTT, you might need to raise the chipset voltage as well.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.