3 watercooling questions - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 09:22 PM   #51 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

bizzump
__________________

MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:23 PM   #52 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to specialblend218
Default

Order of components doesn’t really matter as long as you don’t have any major restriction right before the inlet of the pump or it may cause cavitation. But having two pumps in a row will have no effect on performance (good or bad).

The leak Nubuis was talking about.
__________________

__________________
www.revelationlan.com Lan Gaming in Southern California!!!
specialblend218 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:25 PM   #53 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to specialblend218
Default

Ditch those reservoirs. They like to suck air into the loop. Also get rid of the Y's and you never want to run you stuff in parallel unless you like bad performance.

Not sure if your thinking about that Polarflo block but I wouldn't get it.


EDIT:



I fixed your drawing
__________________
www.revelationlan.com Lan Gaming in Southern California!!!
specialblend218 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:54 PM   #54 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

lol i like your drawing SB

i was told at gruntville that the polarflow tt was the best

And I didnt put any y's on it, the TT has two outlets and the dual 5x1.5 res has two inlets.

If the res's didnt create blockage would it matter if iput them there simply for asthetics?
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:58 PM   #55 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Meh I figured since my ram chips on my 6600GT get rather warm they would add extra heat to the loop thats not really needed.... But I see your point kinda now Nubius.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:07 PM   #56 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

what'chu talking about scott?
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:08 PM   #57 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to specialblend218
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MAXIMILIAN
lol i like your drawing SB

i was told at gruntville that the polarflow tt was the best

And I didnt put any y's on it, the TT has two outlets and the dual 5x1.5 res has two inlets.

If the res's didnt create blockage would it matter if iput them there simply for asthetics?
You will be cutting the flow through the GPU blocks in half by running them in parallel. Which will serverly reduce the performance. The gruntville review that they are refering too showed the polarflo block was so good that it defied physics. Also I wouldn't use one for three reasons. First being that it is an old design (non impingment) so the odds are the performance isn't there. Second, they don't send review samples out to any of the people with good review benches (like procooling and Robotech). If they had a good block then they would be sending it to these places to show how well it performs (which is what every other company does). So to me it seems like they are hiding something. And third but not least, they use(d) aluminum tops which will lead to corrosion over time. Now they have gone the acrylic top route which is better, but they don't offer a acetal/delrin or brass top which has been a proven winner over time for durability since I have had two acrylic tops crack and all my delrin or brass tops have no signs a wear.
__________________
www.revelationlan.com Lan Gaming in Southern California!!!
specialblend218 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:17 PM   #58 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

im just understand how running them paralel instead of in a line will have any effect considering its the same amount of preasure.

And what about the diagram with two loops
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:29 PM   #59 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to specialblend218
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MAXIMILIAN
im just understand how running them paralel instead of in a line will have any effect considering its the same amount of preasure.

And what about the diagram with two loops
If you have 140 gallons per hour running through your loop when they split to you gpu blocks they will be cut in half 70gph through each block equaling the 140gph your system is pumping.

Two loops is a no-no... you want both pump in a row so you get the most head out of the parts you have.
__________________
www.revelationlan.com Lan Gaming in Southern California!!!
specialblend218 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:32 PM   #60 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

funny, i didnt think of it that way but that makes perfect sense

a d5 per 2x rad would work better still though wouldnt it?(cuz i really really really like that setup )
__________________

MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.