3 watercooling questions - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 05:25 PM   #41 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
If they come with the odd plug you can pop the two wires out and put them in the correct plug which is nice and easy.
or you could do like me and force the two pin plug onto a 3 pin

Quote:
this may sound strange but aslong as the water is flowing does it really matter how much restriction is caused by how many block/ components you put in the loop?
restriction will cause slower flow causing a hit in cooling performance.

Quote:
Them kind go over the RAM chips and it adds more heat to the water for almost no overclocking gain
the RAM doesn't add any heat to the water at all...You lose cooling on the GPU because the block is so big instead of concentraded solely on the GPU.

Max - you really shouldn't get those full block GPU coolers.... you're better off with a MAZE4 for the GPU and getting some RAMsinks for the RAM...although RAM really doesn't even get hot enough to necessitate their use, they look pretty

That first pic you posted is restricted is hell with what looks like an RBX block, chipset block, GPU block, flow meter, y-splitters galore and god knows what else...hell it even looks like he's using 3/8" tubing as well as the 2nd pic you posted.

That reservoir in the 2nd pic is probably home made as it looks like it's housing a submerisble pump.

This is specialblends setup...he might have showed you already




He's got a TDX block, MAZE4 GPU, D4 pump and 2 120mm chrome black ice (I think) radiators.

This is mine: (although not as pretty as specialblends )

http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=9/25117374143.jpg&s=x4
http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=9/25117382334.jpg&s=x4

I have the same thing he's got except instead of using radiators I've got a heater core which uses 2 120mm fans and I modded it with 5/8" barbs


I only assume by your 'should I be cooling the mobo' you're referring to the chipset which no you don't need to water cool that.

You should really get nothing less than a TDX block for the CPU...if you want to mix it up you could go with RBX, but they are 3 barbs...one with water flowing in and the other 2 barbs have water flowing out and are connected with a y-splitter...can be more of a pain in the ***....besides those blocks if you wanted even better you'd be in a waiting list to get the block and pay some mad cash.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 05:31 PM   #42 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I would still personally suggest going with a single iwaki over two D5s as it simply seems more practical...but if you must use two D5s, I think it'd be better to seperate both of them and not put them right after each other...for example I'd put one right infront of the monstercore and then the best thing to do would probably be to put the second right after the monstercore that way flow isn't degraded after going through the heatercore fins

The only reservoirs that I have come to trust are the specific material made ones that dangerden sells that are guranteed not to crack...I know for a fact that acrylic has known to crack or leak over time

Would also recommend you scratch the full video card blocks and simply focus on the GPU, VRAM doesn't get hot enough to warrant water and they will degrade performance and increase resistance
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 05:39 PM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
but if you must use two D5s, I think it'd be better to seperate both of them and not put them right after each other...
agreed.

Specialblends reservoir busted on him once....luckily with that cube case though the leak wasn't anywhere near any components.

However he has shown me a pic in the past where his system completely leaked all over the motherboard and crap...surprisingly enough though the system survived lol.

I believe he said he was at a LAN and bam the computer shut down, looked in, and was wet
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:27 PM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

scratched
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:29 PM   #45 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

on xtreme foums....
Quote:
yes, flow matters very much.
Pumps are best off in series, it'll increase the head pressure, and thats what we need most.
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:37 PM   #46 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

nubius is the man
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:53 PM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol thanks?

But SpecialBlend was the one who tought me about watercooling, so the credit would really go to him.

Casemodgod created a thread calling him the 'water cooling guru'
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:58 PM   #48 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

yeah he is lol
MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:59 PM   #49 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://dangerdenstore.com/product.ph...&cat=27&page=1

^That's the reservoir I use and uses the material I was referring to earlier, High-Density Polyethylene

Some of the configurations you have listed are REALLY REALLY confusing and I can't even follow some of them, but trust me, when you actually get your equipment and are setting it up, you don't want Y splitters and tubing running here and there...best thing IMO:

Pump > heatercore > Pump > CPU block > GPU block 1 > GPU block 2 > Reservoir

You don't need more than one reservoir, it's only really there for filling/bleeding purposes and having more than one reservoir will no doubt restict flow as the water isn't moving in the reservoir

Also IMO it is best to have the reservoir above your pump, that way gravity can be used to funnel the water from the res into the pump
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:15 PM   #50 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 179
Default

ok this is what i got my options down to.....
no "Y" splitters in either.
a 1 loop version and 2 loop version.



==============================================

__________________

MAXIMILIAN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.