3.2 to 3.7 OC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2006, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default 3.2 to 3.7 OC

Hello all, here is my current situation.

CPU: Pentium 4 540 - 3.2 GhZ with 1MB L2 Cache
Motherboard: Asus P5P800

I steadily overclocked my 3.2 higher and higher. (Btw, I could only up my FSB becasue the multiplier is locked.)

I clocked it to the point where it was 3.732 (about) GhZ. The idle temperature was 53 and then my computer just shut down. Now, I know 3.7 is a REALLY high OC but I am wondering why it shut down. The voltage was fine because I was looking at my stats right when it shut down. Voltage was at about 1.46 and the temp was at about 53-55.

The question is why did my PC shut down?

Now I open my Everest Home Edition program and I can NO LONGER view my FBS speed on there.
Then when I go to sensors I can't view my Mobo or CPU temperatures. Did I blow my sensors and why is this happening?

thanks.
__________________

crazlunatic is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

The reason it shut down is cos of ur psu. u will need more power if u want to keep that speed. wat psu u got? my pc turned off when i oced my gfx on my old pc so i no this is the reason. duno bout the sensors.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 06:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Were you upping the vCORE while you were overclocking? If not raise the vCORE or drop the FSB. It sounds like it is unstable.

I dont know why it would not show the FSB though, have you tried cpu-z?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 07:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

nvm probably some bug. How do I raise the vcore?

I have a 300W, really small. Stupid vendor gave me the wrong PSU.
__________________
<strong><font size="2.2"><a href="http://vistarewired.com/2007/03/14/10-things-you-wished-you-had-known-about-vista/"> 10 must-know Vista tips and tutorials</a></font></strong>
<p>
crazlunatic is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

There ya go. What else do you have in your system? Like how many fans, hdd's, what type of video card...
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 09:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

LOL! 53c idle?! That's insane! I don't even get that hot full load! BTW, 3.2 to 3.7 is not a very big overclock. I have my 165 overclocked from 1.8GHz to 2.8GHz. It could go higher, but it gets to hot, I would need water cooling. Not only was your CPU way to hot, but the PSU was also way to weak.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 09:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

PSU. 300W wont do. you want to get at least 500w or more. and u need some after market CPU heatsink/fan. or mb ur ram cant hundle that much FSB if u r not using ram divider.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 10:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by boomstick666
PSU. 300W wont do. you want to get at least 500w or more. and u need some after market CPU heatsink/fan. or mb ur ram cant hundle that much FSB if u r not using ram divider.
Maybe 500watts max a 450w would do fine unless you have a huge Video card.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 11:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Hey. Yea you're right 50 idle is TOO HOT.
But this is the weird thing, when my P4 540 is idle, I'm at 46-49 temps?

Also, you must have probably had an AMD to overclock from 1.8 to 2.8 thats insane.

Full load will go up to 60 and sometimes just 61 or 62.
I'm using the stock heatsink and i made sure its secure.

Heres what I got (hehe it'll make me look silly :P)
1 dvd rw drive
1 cdrw drive
1 80 gb
1 20 gb
1 vid
1 sound
1 network
1 case fan

LOL.

Btw, how do you adjust vcore?
And my 5.0v , the number is higher than 5.
__________________
<strong><font size="2.2"><a href="http://vistarewired.com/2007/03/14/10-things-you-wished-you-had-known-about-vista/"> 10 must-know Vista tips and tutorials</a></font></strong>
<p>
crazlunatic is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 01:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

pfff... I've got a ASUS P4P800E-Deluxe & P4 3.4 Ghz. My CPU never gets any lower then 45C at idle with a Zalman 7000 & a good case with good air circulation. During heavy load it reaches about 55C to 60C.

I've attemped to Overclock this before and haven't had great results. The highest i've been was 3.76Ghz stable. Anything higher then that and I would get restarts. I also tried uping VCORE but same results. Also, load temps would reach 65C to 70C. A tad too hot for me.

I'm not as knowledgeable in (OCing) as many are here, but I'd say that even though intels offer higher overclocks, I'd say you need something more efficient then "Aircooling" to achieve them.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.