3.0ghz! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2007, 08:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default 3.0ghz!

hey guys just wanted to tell you that i got my q6600 to 3.0ghz! the other day with my tuniq! it idles at 38-40, and loads at 53-54. i love the tuniq, i might try push it to 3.2 and see what temps i get.



also when changing ram timings whats better t1,t2 or both? coz i got my hz ddr800 4 4 4 12, at 4 4 4 5 1t
__________________

kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 3.0ghz!

hasnt this been done before on tech forums, nice job nonetheless
also, do you think a zalman can fare with a tuniq?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: 3.0ghz!

not sure on that havent owned a zalman b4 so cant say anything but ive heard the tuniq is alot better.

can u tell me bout the ram question?
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: 3.0ghz!

t1 is like 2 x 1 GB = 2GB
t2 is like 4 x 512 MB = 2GB
t1 > t2, keep t1
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: 3.0ghz!

Good to hear that you finally got the temps under control and reached 3.0ghz.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 12:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: 3.0ghz!

Indeed, Nice OC.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 04:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: 3.0ghz!

that RAM is ace, it'll get you far. DONT put to many volts through it though, I'd suggest 2.2v as a MAX. 2.3v is you are feeling lucky. Anything over that, and Micron D9 chips have a nasty habit of dying on you.
joshd is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 04:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 3.0ghz!

2.2 is the stock vdimm on my ballistix.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 09:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 3.0ghz!

i dont know how much better a tuniq is than a zalman...but i know it is a little. maybe a couple degrees cooler?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 10:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 3.0ghz!

Yea, about 3-4 degrees.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
difference between e6600 and e6320 siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 05-22-2007 12:39 AM
Will it get me to 3.0Ghz raiders_best Overclocking and Modding 11 05-13-2007 06:32 PM
Help me reach 3.0ghz AMDSCOrPiO Overclocking and Modding 9 04-30-2007 11:47 AM
Seeking 3.0GHz or greater Pentium 4 478... firemandave Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 04-10-2007 04:35 PM
E6600 3.0Ghz OCing HELP wongb18c Overclocking and Modding 2 04-07-2007 11:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.