2x512 mb faster than 1gb stick? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2005, 09:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
If you get 4x512mb, the memory will have lower latencys than 2x1gb
It depends on the RAM he chooses to get, 4x512mb wouldn't necessarily always have tighter latency...the tightest 2x1gb kit I could find was 2-3-2-5, so yeah if he got 4x512mb that was high performance 2-2-2-5 RAM then it'd TECHNICALLY be faster on a scale not noticeable, but if he were to simply get valueRAM of like 3-3-3-8 timings then it'd be the same
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Oh ya, sorry. I forgot we ware talking about valueram here. Thats a forbidden word for people who own DFI mobos
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 11:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to Augsy
Default

4 sticks also draw more power too
__________________

__________________
My LeEt CoMp
Asus A8N-SLI
AMD Athlon 3500+ venice
Enermax 535 watt PS
2 x 512mb OCZ premier series
XFX 6800 GT (1100/400)
WD Sata II 250 GB HD w/16mb cache
Lite-on 1693S DVD-RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
windows xp pro
Augsy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.