2x512 mb faster than 1gb stick? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2005, 07:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Default 2x512 mb faster than 1gb stick?

I heard somewhere that putting 2 512mb sticks is faster than a 1gb stick. is this true?
if so would it still be true for 4 512mb sticks vs 2 1gb sticks?
__________________

peace2acorn is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

2x512 will give you dual channel...that's why it's faster than a single 1gb stick....4x512mb would be pointless as 2x1gb would give you dual channel as well.

2 matching sticks assuming your motherboard and CPU support it will give you dual channel
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 96
Default

I guess it would depend on the stick but, I would think that 2 sticks would be faster because you have 2 things working at a time.
__________________
<A HREF=\"http://www.StudioMtec.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img border=\"0\" img src=\"http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d119/mtecavatars/TFsig02.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" alt=\"www.StudioMtec\"></A>
Rafe is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Default

so youre saying that 4x512mb would be the same as 2x1gb? if it would operate the same then i will get 4x512mb sticks cuz that is cheaper by like $50.
peace2acorn is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 96
Default

No, IMO, 4 sticks would be FASTER than just 2. im talking about speed, not size.

But like I said, that is just my opinion.
__________________
<A HREF=\"http://www.StudioMtec.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img border=\"0\" img src=\"http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d119/mtecavatars/TFsig02.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" alt=\"www.StudioMtec\"></A>
Rafe is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I guess it would depend on the stick but, I would think that 2 sticks would be faster because you have 2 things working at a time.
kind of but no...the only reason they would go faster is because of dual channel...but if your motherboard doesn't support dual channel then 2x512mb would be no faster than 1gb.....so yeah they DO both get accessed when it's 2x512mb running in dual channel, but if it's running in single channel it's only one stick at a time being accessed.

Quote:
so youre saying that 4x512mb would be the same as 2x1gb? if it would operate the same then i will get 4x512mb sticks cuz that is cheaper by like $50.
assuming the motherboard has 4 slots and supports dual channel it would be, however some boards don't like all 4 slots being filled up and might default your RAM to a slower speed...I believe the MSI board does that...if you use up all 4 slots then it'll only run at DDR333...so you'd have to check the motherboard specs before you did that

Quote:
No, IMO, 4 sticks would be FASTER than just 2. im talking about speed, not size
no...4x512mb would go the same speed as 2x1gb because they'd both be running in dual channel (once again assuming your motherboard supports dual channel and you are using 4x matching sticks, or 2x matching sticks in the case of 2x1gb)
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
the only reason they would go faster is because of dual channel..
Yeah, sorry. dual channel is a must. I didn't ask about that when I posted. But thats what I meant.
Rafe is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
assuming the motherboard has 4 slots and supports dual channel it would be, however some boards don't like all 4 slots being filled up and might default your RAM to a slower speed...I believe the MSI board does that...if you use up all 4 slots then it'll only run at DDR333...so you'd have to check the motherboard specs before you did that
Don't know whether the MSI boards affect them, but if I remember correctly, the CPU has something to do with that for sure. I think the Venice (AMD) is capable of maintaining it at DDR400 (when you use 4 sticks) where as like the Winnie would force it to drop down to DDR333.
Chankama is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Don't know whether the MSI boards affect them, but if I remember correctly, the CPU has something to do with that for sure. I think the Venice (AMD) is capable of maintaining it at DDR400 (4 sticks) where as like the Winnie would force it to drop down to DDR333.
Honestly I never much paid attention because it was of no concern to me lol...so hell you could be right...I know with the nf3 board, well most DFI boads in generally the reps test 4 sticks out in the board...I guess all 4 slots filled up sometimes causes more issues than with just two sticks, but yeah like I said, I never much looked into it
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If you get 4x512mb, the memory will have lower latencys than 2x1gb, and it will still be dual channel. In theory, it should be faster.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.