2nd PSU question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2009, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default 2nd PSU question

Ok, a couple months ago i asked about using a 2nd PSU for my computer and I was told that it is ok for a temporary fix, but not a good idea for permanent setup. I understand this, and agree, however I am impatient. My corsair 650tx is here, but I can't use it until x-mas. My current PSU is 300w stock from HP Pav. a6700f prebuilt assumed to be running at close to 100% (i tried to add a 2nd HDD and the computer wouldn't start).

I wanted to get some files from my 2 old HDD, so i figured a temp. 2PSU setup would be ok just to transfer the files to my current HDD. When i set it all up, the computer got to the HP screen where it says "press esc for boot menu, F9 for diagnostics" etc. then the screen turned black and it hung.

the 2 psu setup was done as follows:
1. 2nd psu installed in bottom mount of my case (haf932 top and bottom mount option which i love!)
2. connected a switch to the green and black wires from the 20pin plug of 2nd psu.
3. connected 2nd psu to the 2 extra HDD's and my front intake, top exhaust fans.
4. both of the extra HDD jumpers are set to "slave"
5. my OS HDD is sata, 2 extra's are IDE.

Anybody have any clue of what could be wrong? I only tried to start up once as i am afraid i may damage something. Do IDE drives take startup priority over SATA as a default setting? Would i be able to start the computer up, and then turn on secondary HDD's? What are the chances I may damage something? It's not imperative that i get this setup done, but i did just spend about 2-3 hours rummaging through old parts, and modding stuff to try and get this work. Would be a nice feeling of accomplishment if i can actually do it.

HELP!


Edit: I was rather proud of the fact that the wires that are connected to old 20pin plug were the green/black wires from a busted PSU. I punched out the female pins from the busted's 20pin plug, squeezed the pin tips together making a male pin that plugged in nice and snug into the 2nd PSU's 20pin connector. the switch i used was also from the busted psu too. Nothing goes to waste
__________________

__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 03:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: 2nd PSU question

Quote:
Originally Posted by apsoul View Post
Anybody have any clue of what could be wrong? I only tried to start up once as i am afraid i may damage something. Do IDE drives take startup priority over SATA as a default setting? Would i be able to start the computer up, and then turn on secondary HDD's? What are the chances I may damage something? It's not imperative that i get this setup done, but i did just spend about 2-3 hours rummaging through old parts, and modding stuff to try and get this work. Would be a nice feeling of accomplishment if i can actually do it.
SET ONE PATA DRIVE TO MASTER AND THEN THE OTHER TO SLAVE (Or just use cable select).

On my motherboard PATA does take priority over SATA. I'm sure this is dependent on the BIOS though, but I could be wrong. Of course, it shouldn't just change if you've been booting from SATA without a problem. First boot up the machine to Windows or whatever your OS is. Once you know it boots properly shut it down. Power up the PATA drives, then power up the computer. Go into your BIOS and make sure they're being recognized.

I've done something similar except with a power supply designed for just a hard drive.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 12:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: 2nd PSU question

ahh, thanks much. I've never had more than 2 HDD in a computer before. I was under the impression that master was for the OS HD, and slave would be for files and such.

What is the purpose of master/slave jumpers, what does it actually do when you set them?
__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: 2nd PSU question

Quote:
Originally Posted by apsoul View Post
ahh, thanks much. I've never had more than 2 HDD in a computer before. I was under the impression that master was for the OS HD, and slave would be for files and such.

What is the purpose of master/slave jumpers, what does it actually do when you set them?
Honestly I have no idea, all I know is it helps the IDE controller/BIOS to determine what drives are attached.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU question Celtic System Upgrades 3 08-01-2009 12:05 AM
Yet again PSU question Thresh25 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-09-2009 04:49 PM
PSU Question Asianyeti New Systems | Building and Buying 16 02-08-2009 08:29 PM
Quick PSU Question... ilim4t1c New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-29-2008 03:35 PM
PSU question Metalice New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-17-2008 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.