2K to play with...Please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2004, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Thumbs up 2K to play with...Please help

So as I sit here on my Sony Vio 1.8GHZ p4 with 512MB ram and NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 256MB trying to play HL2, I have come to the point where I must upgrade or build. I am choosing the build option. My problem is with all the items out there and acronyms and such, I have no idea what is good and what is not. I have 2k to spend on the guts of the machine....No cd players or monitors or soundcards, just MB, Proc, Ram, video, and cooling. I have a lian Li case but doesnt seem to have much are for more fans. So what I am asking is if you had 2k to spend building a good gaming machine what would you do.

Sorry if this has been asked before, I just hate searching.
__________________

BIRISH is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Build a Dual Xeon system..

If you just wana put that 2k into the cpus, mono, ram, and video..
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Thats an awesome budget to work with!!! Your going to enjoy your new comp.

CPU: [url]http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-496&depa=1http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-469&depa=1
Video card: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-140&depa=1
Ram: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-450&depa=1
Cooling: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...118-113&depa=1

It all comes out to $1507.69
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 06:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 78
Default

What woudl you suggest for the motherboard? I was thinking the Abit AV8
BIRISH is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ChaosBlizzard
Build a Dual Xeon system..

If you just wana put that 2k into the cpus, mono, ram, and video..
I wouldn't go duals for a gaming PC. Waste of money
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 07:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slvrstang
I wouldn't go duals for a gaming PC. Waste of money
So says your opinion. I would like to see why you think this. Your gona tell me two Xeons are slower than a single AMD 64 aren't you.. lol

I say AMD's are a waste of money.. That's what I say.

See, we both say something different.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 07:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ChaosBlizzard
So says your opinion. I would like to see why you think this. Your gona tell me two Xeons are slower than a single AMD 64 aren't you.. lol

I say AMD's are a waste of money.. That's what I say.

See, we both say something different.
Depending on what you are using it for, then my answer would be mostly yes, a single athlon 64 would be faster than 2 xeons. Xeons are designed as workstation and low end server processors that share the load between processors. So, yes they may be better for things like multitasking, but thats about it. Running single processes would be faster on an athlon 64, even if you had 8 xeons in one computer. The xeon, like the P4 EE, has a ton of useless cache on it that wouldn't benefit anyone unless they were running a server. The Athlon 64 kicks the **** out of any p4EE or xeon in gaming, and is about a third of the price. Not to mention they run cooler and last longer
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 240x10 = 2400Mhz
Stock cooler (for now)
DFI LanParty UT NF4-UltraD
2x 1GB OCZ PC3200 EL Platinum
eVGA Geforce 7950GT
1x Seagate 7200.9 250GB SATA
2x Seagate 7200.7 120GB SATA
420 Watt Enlight PSU
Logitech Z-680 powered by onboard audio
LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM
NEC ND-3500A 16x8x16 DVD+/-RW


http://www.tcdextreme.com
FuriousYellow is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 07:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

1 CPU will be running your OS and the other CPU will be running your game.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 08:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Default

OK before you start your game, check to see how much if your CPU is being used. It doesn't matter what CPU the game runs on, it wont make a difference. The fact is, both CPUs will be free to run the game, and only 1 cpu will be used to play it. 2 CPUs will only benefit you if you are encoding movies and running a database server under high load while playing your game, which most people opt out of doing. But, if thats the case, again you can by a couple of Opteron 250s for way less money and get a system that performs better and runs cooler than a xeon system
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 240x10 = 2400Mhz
Stock cooler (for now)
DFI LanParty UT NF4-UltraD
2x 1GB OCZ PC3200 EL Platinum
eVGA Geforce 7950GT
1x Seagate 7200.9 250GB SATA
2x Seagate 7200.7 120GB SATA
420 Watt Enlight PSU
Logitech Z-680 powered by onboard audio
LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM
NEC ND-3500A 16x8x16 DVD+/-RW


http://www.tcdextreme.com
FuriousYellow is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 08:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FuriousYellow
OK before you start your game, check to see how much if your CPU is being used. It doesn't matter what CPU the game runs on, it wont make a difference. The fact is, both CPUs will be free to run the game, and only 1 cpu will be used to play it. 2 CPUs will only benefit you if you are encoding movies and running a database server under high load while playing your game, which most people opt out of doing. But, if thats the case, again you can by a couple of Opteron 250s for way less money and get a system that performs better and runs cooler than a xeon system
So basically what your saying here is, a game has more demand than a server? That's what your telling me.

So basically, you just said, a game requires more CPU power, than say 3000 users accessing files on a system at once.

BTW- I have benchmarks that show Xeons with higher performance than those Opterons. The cache, like you said, really helps. They are up to 2MB now..
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.