2600+ wont pass go and collect 200$ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 03:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Angry 2600+ wont pass go and collect 200$

Ok so i decided that what the **** why not and go ahead and OC my 2600+ AthlonXP past 2.3. Well I have a divider so if i bump up the FSB the ram wont go past 166 (DDR333 in it). So i have the FSB set at 200 for an effective 2.3ghz on it. Everytime i try to go any further it will beep at me of course and not load up and default to safe mode settings. I have the voltage set at 1.75 and it deffinately isnt overheating at all. Anybody got any ideas?? (Garaa, Nubius??)
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-31-2005, 05:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well I pumped 2.225v through my XP-M trying to get 2.8GHz stable....personally I wouldn't try above 1.975v on it again, but I was new into overclocking at the time and felt daring. If you're keeping it cool you can put more voltage into it. It took 1.875 for my XP-M to run at 2.5GHz and 1.975v to get 2.7GHz completely stable
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 05:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default

Ok well i made it 1.75v and im running 2.41 stable. According to CBID im running a 3626+ My LAN rig owns haha.
What was your FSB set at to get 2.7ghz? BTW my ram is at 175 2-2-2-6@2.7v WEll ill try some more sunday when i get home.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 01-01-2006, 12:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

whats CBID?
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 01:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Donno, but from the looks of it, it's some kind of tool that determines your CPU's speed rating in intel terms. I'd like to try that once I oc my opty to 3GHz!
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

CBID = Central Brain Identifier



It's basically a variant of CPU-Z that provides a bit more info and second opinion on stuff like vcore and such

And yeah, Nubius basically answered this question...XPs can take enough voltage and you should be able to pump close to 2v through them if you have the cooling to do so
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 06:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

How about the Palamino core? Anyone have experience with that? I'm not sure what a good IDLE temperature is. I read that the maximum temp should be 90*C but I don't know what is safe for that sucker to run when it's idle or in use. I obviously want to stay away from 90*C.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 06:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default

Thanx for answering the question Gaara, and i have good enough cooling to push it. I just need to put my good fan back on it but for the time being im not going to a LAN so it dosent really matter. I did get it to 2.5 but i think something is getting unstable cause Windows will restart.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.