2500 OC problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2004, 12:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
tbc
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 45
Default 2500 OC problem

Hi,
Just got my 2500m and I couldn't wait, so I put the FSB to 200 with multiplier 11! Running prime95 torture test, no problem!
I opened the mbm and asus probe to monitor the temperature... after about 10 mins, the alarm start to sound from the asus probe. +5V was fluctuating, so I ignored, and carry on, well after few minutes, all the temperature became N/A on both mbm and asus probe!!!
Asus probe was showing CPU fan, Chasis Fan under threshold(I set it at 600rpm) +12V and +5V was fluctuating! So I got scared I am going to burned the CPU and shut the power off! During all of these time, prime 95 was running!

Restart and set the multiplier to 10, but it won't boot, so I shut it off and just set it back to stock!

What might be the cause of this??? I suspect it might be the power supply, but than it is a 400W(I hope the shop didn't lie to me 2 years ago...) hahaha

Please help...
__________________

__________________
AMD 2500+ M (@Stock)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Kingston 512mb DDR400 * 2
ATI 9600XT AIW
Vantec Aeroflow
tbc is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 04:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

I think you're right about the power supply. do you have another computer that you can swap power supply with?
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 12:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
tbc
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 45
Default

No I don't, is there anyways to check the capacity of the power supply?
__________________
AMD 2500+ M (@Stock)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Kingston 512mb DDR400 * 2
ATI 9600XT AIW
Vantec Aeroflow
tbc is offline  
Old 05-31-2004, 07:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

define what you mean by fluxuating, because my guess is you're freaking out about a common non stable psu... which won't stay accurate @ 5v, it will usually be below that and it won't stick with a stable current. Instead of using those silly programs, check your bios. If your bios shows that something is low or is fluxuating like you're saying, then you have a problem. Those programs are rarely accurate in temp's and it's possible to be the same with voltages.
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 12:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

just because it it claims 400watts doesn't mean its a real 400 watt power supply. can you give me the model and how much you paid for it? a quality power supply will be very stable. i do not think he is over-reacting. these monitoring softwares always set the alarm at a very safe point. if you do not know what power supply you have that means it is most likely generic, un-reliable piece of crap.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 01:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
tbc
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 45
Default Update

I think it is a generic one, since I paid CAD $50 for both case and the psu!!! I ran the prim95 and it gave me an error at about 3hr and 15min!!! The temp of CPU stay at about 40-45 degree.
I did went into bios and check the vcore voltage to be at 1.63-1.65v
Just to give it a test I have post the picture below,
first one is when I just get into the window, second one is when I load asus probe and mbm together with prime95, excel and word!!!
I am hoping it is not the memory and the cpu, since I just bought them!!!
If it is the power supply, about how many watts will I need for it to be stable?
Will this be a good buy?
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...5&Sku=D15-1010


__________________
AMD 2500+ M (@Stock)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Kingston 512mb DDR400 * 2
ATI 9600XT AIW
Vantec Aeroflow
tbc is offline  
Old 06-01-2004, 11:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
tbc
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Hi,
It is a value one!
__________________
AMD 2500+ M (@Stock)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Kingston 512mb DDR400 * 2
ATI 9600XT AIW
Vantec Aeroflow
tbc is offline  
Old 06-03-2004, 05:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

tbc you are wanting to get another cheap case with a piece of crap power supply. you need to buy a separate power supply. goto newegg.com and type "enlight 420" into the search box. thats the power supply you want if you need something cheap and reliable.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.