24-pin power supplies? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2005, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default 24-pin power supplies?

For a while, I was looking at this motherboard (MSI Neo2 Platinum, AGP graphics), and then I started looking at this one (MSI Neo4 Platinum, PCI Express graphics and SLI), but one of the reviews praised Newegg's service, then blasted MSI for not using standard parts, requiring a 24 pin power supply. I did some searching on Newegg.com and found that 24 pin power supplies can be had, they're not exactly non-standard... but I'm looking at this case, and it comes with a 500w power supply, but I can't tell if it's a 20 pin or 24 pin.

I've seen adapters, but I'm not sure about using an adapter. I'd prefer everything be compatible.

For those who are curious, here's my plan for the AGP based computer:

Case: $159 (includes power supply): Aspire X-Gamer
Motherboard: $143 (includes sound, USB2, LAN) (MSI Neo2 Platinum)
CPU: $295: AMD Athlon64 3500+
RAM: $59.99: Wintec 512MB PC3200 DDR 400
Video card: $69.99GeForce 5200 256MB
Hard disk: $179 WD Raptor 10k RPM 74GB

I did not select a CD or DVD drive, because I have this dead Plexwriter that can read, but burns CDs with errors. The plan was to hold off on getting the obligatory 16X DVD burner for ~$60 on my next paycheck. The total on this system comes to USD $905.98.


...And the plans for the PCI Express system:

Case: $159: Aspire X-Navigator Green, 5 fans, 500W power supply, front USB2/Firewire
Motherboard: $189: MSI Neo4 Platinum (other computer had the Neo2 Platinum, was like $143)
CPU: $193: AMD Athlon64 3200+ (other one had the A64 3500+, was like $295)
Memory: $59.78: Wintec 512MB PC3200 DDR 400
Video card: $142: Chaintech 256MB GeForce 6600 PCI-Express (other one had a cheap 256MB GeForce 5200, but it was only $69.99)
Hard drive: $180: Western Digital 74GB Serial ATA 10,000 RPM "Raptor"
DVD Burner: $61.99: NEC 16X DVD +/- RW drive

The total on this one is USD $981.77 but that includes the DVD burner. I'm slightly inclined to go with the PCI Express system; although the processor is slower, I think the video card is better, the chipset is better as well, and I have the SLI option for later, though I did not select an SLI compatible card (they're a lot more).

Since there are problems with SATA (and I really don't want to have a floppy drive from which to install the drivers), I'll probably save myself another ~$130 and just get a regular ATA 7200RPM 80GB drive with the 8MB cache.
__________________

Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

get an adapter, thats what i used. its works great.
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

You dont need an adapter, mine works fine.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You dont need an adapter, mine works fine.
That may be, but if it says it requires 24 pin, I'd rather not take the chance.

Adapters dont have any influence on compatibility in this sense man. They work fine with no problems whatsoever, so you should just get a 20 to 24 pin to be safe. Better safe than sorry right?
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

uhm your case probably doesn't come with a 24 pin psu. Its not a "non standard", its a new standard. Get a online MB manual for both of those and find out if those MBs requires 24 pin, 20 pin, or either like mine. Its still in a transition so probably won't be a 'required' thing for a year or so. Those extra 4 pins provide extra power for the video card. Still read the manual first, try to do what it suggests.

Adapters dont have any influence on compatibility..... as of right now
Sui is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 05:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Well look up the manual and see if it says a 24 pin supply is re'q.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.