20/24 pin mobo - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2006, 03:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

i overclocked my p4 to 3.75 without the 4 pin plugged in, (only 20) then i just plugged it in, not really a huge OC fan because if i fry something i have no cash to replace it. if you have the plugs, plug them in!
__________________

__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 03:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
mole1135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 347
Send a message via AIM to mole1135 Send a message via Yahoo to mole1135
Default

if you guys didnt see my thread on this, i have a dfi board with 24 pins and a ultra x-connect with a 20 pin and the comp would not shut off with the case buttons so i had to flip the psu power switch. but when i got the adapter the case buttons worked
__________________

__________________


AIM- Mole1135 Yahoo mail- Mole1135@yahoo.com
mole1135 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 04:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

BUMMER, mole i think you have my favorite sig at TF. that thing is sick
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:49 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

I am OC'd from 2.0 to 2.4 without those extra 4 pins. So is that really true that I can get a better overclock with those 4 pins in?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 08:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yes you can because it provides extra current, not power or voltage to the motherboard. having multiple 12v inputs in parellel decreases resistance and increases current, when you overclock the processor draws more current
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 03:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
mole1135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 347
Send a message via AIM to mole1135 Send a message via Yahoo to mole1135
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by neweyedeya18
BUMMER, mole i think you have my favorite sig at TF. that thing is sick

I know, but I cant take credit for it, Nubious made it for me, I think he makes the sickest sig's on TF
__________________


AIM- Mole1135 Yahoo mail- Mole1135@yahoo.com
mole1135 is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 12:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
yes you can because it provides extra current, not power or voltage to the motherboard. having multiple 12v inputs in parellel decreases resistance and increases current, when you overclock the processor draws more current
That makes sense to me. I've heard of people with their Venice cores being able to OC a lot higher than I can. My temps are really good so I know it's not overheating, and I have my voltage almost maxed out, but I still can't go above 2.4. So if there is more current to the cpu I might be able to get a higher overclock.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 06:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

i have a 20 pin and for some reason my ram cant go beyond the stock settings(200 mhz) and when i oc i have to have it below 200 mhz to me stable...wierd. i think i may try out that converter/connector thing.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:39 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 161
Send a message via AIM to snowpunk
Default

Would having the extra 4 pins do anything for the current going to the RAM too?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h107/snowpunk857/siggy.jpg\">
snowpunk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.