2 PSUs in one case - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2005, 09:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

i have been in the same dillema lately. i want to put this 250w AT psu. it has its own switch and everything. i can power my fans and stuff with it it. my main powersupply is a AMC 300w ATX that is 5 years old. this powersupply is suprisingly good.

for 5 years old and only 300w with 12amps on the +12v rail. i have 2 optical drives, 2 40mm fans, 1 80mm, a 120mmx38mm massive fan, and all the hardware in my sig. i thought the 6800gt and the 120mm fan would have burnt it out but it still has stable voltages.

sooner or later im gunna buy an anyec or something, but i think this 300w one is gunna be around for a while longer.
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 10:48 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by smileygladhands
How about you save some money.. save some heat and save some electricity.. and just buy a good, strong psu that will handle everything you've got.. wild idea.. I know.
You might think that. Anyways, the original reason I posed this question was mainly because of saving money . I am interested in buying a UPS unit to power up my system. But, just thinking ahead for the future, if I have a 600 W PSU, a "regularly priced" UPS just doesn't seem to be able to do the job - if I am reading their specs correctly.

A 450 W UPS is $120 Cdn. Anything higher, forget about it. Just too expensive. So why not connect the CPU and mobo and the HDDs to one unit and the vid card and external devices to the other? Now, this is with the assumption that having a non-functioning vidcard while the rest of the system is running will "not" be a problem. I don't know if it will be or if Windows will crap out on me. After all, it is a Windows issue. Anyone who writes an OS can write it so that the presence of a vid card or other non-essential devices are not mandatory.

When Windows realizes the vidcard is suddently not working, maybe it'll halt. Not sure since I've never done it. Otherwise, the computer will keep running any critical programs on the system - which I sometimes have. And when the main power comes back on, the secondary PSU will kick back in and activate the other components.

Probably won't do it . But still good to know of the possibilities .

Crazy idea? Dunno. Point out any problems with this!
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:10 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

get the redundant power supplies
shockwavecs is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 10:44 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Just curious... can we see a rundown of all the hardware in your system?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:50 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

It can be any black ground from the ATX connection right?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 07:35 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

It should the black wire that is right next to the green wire. Most motherboards have a manual that tell you what jumpers are and what the plugs are, and also the atx connector.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.