2.9ghz? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2006, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default 2.9ghz?

i'm running the cpu in my sig @ 2.75ghz right this minute. i set the bios v. for 1.475 but it does more like 1.52v under load. max temp is 49 or 50ºC. here's the deal:

I was just trying to see how high I could get it to post at and I got it to post and boot into windows at 2.9ghz but at 1.55v...under load, it went up to almost 1.6v.... and the temps got above 55ºC, so I stopped the torture test. because of this, i'm not sure if it's stable at that configuration or not.

is it worth it to spend $40 or so on a better HSF (I'm using stock HSF) to [maybe] run at 2.9ghz? is the performance increase worth the money?

also, theoretically, which would be faster?:
RAM @ 220mhz @ 2.5-3-3-7 or
RAM @ 230mhz @ 2.5-4-4-8?
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

Mhz has more impact than timings.
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

that's what I thought. besides, i ended up getting the memory to run at 230mhz at 2.5-3-3-7, 1T timings.

Chips are supposed to be 2.5-4-4-8, and were autodetected that on my old motherboard (Foxconn), plus they would only run at 2T.

On my new DFI Inifinity mobo, they automatically run at 2.5-3-3-7, 1T, even when overclocked. Pretty awesome.

I gave up an trying to get my CPU 2.9ghz stable. I had it hitting 1.6v on load and temps were getting close to 60º and it would still restart a few minutes into the stress test. 2.75ghz will do.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: 2.9ghz?

Quote:
Originally posted by molsen

is it worth it to spend $40 or so on a better HSF (I'm using stock HSF) to [maybe] run at 2.9ghz? is the performance increase worth the money?
That's up to you to decide. To the hardcore overclocker, 40$ for a better OC would be worth it. Is it worth it for you?


You won't see too much of a difference between those memory configurations.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

eh, i'm not that hardcore. thanks for the input guys.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I would spend the extra money. It's going to endup being beneficial to all your hardware anyway, plus that temp is a little high for 24/7 use. You probably will notice aslight preformance boost from 2.75-2.9.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 03:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

well i'm not going to run at 2.9ghz if i don't get the cooling, so temp. is not an issue right now.

a "slight" performance increase?
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.