2.65GHZ Venice!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2005, 06:58 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i cant RMA my cpu, its been 30 days and i cant get a replacemnt senese its warranty through the manufactuer
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 10:29 AM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Nubius, I've heard it many times and even some people on here confirmed it.

Pzero, even if the replacement is through the manufacturer (AMD) then you can send it to AMD and get a replacement chip. You just need a good enough excu- *ahem* reason.

I'm running Prime95 right now just to check really how stable my 2.5GHz @ 1.425v is, its been running for like 10 hours or so and hasn't failed yet. The load temps are going between 54*C-56*C. If I bump the vcore up to 1.45, the load temps go to 59*C...

Thats Horrible 0_0...
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 01:22 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Mmh 2,65 nice, but can't you go higher to like 2,8 ghz? My winnie goes to 2,55 (3200+ / max is 2,65 not really stable). Venice cores are known
for good oc potential.
wotter is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 03:16 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
lol how about trying to beat my 2.8GHz with 1:1...I'm using much less vcore now too where you're getting close to the core capacity

I still haven't even tested the max for this shizzo yet either...I'm thinking it could hit 3GHz if I tried though
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 04:58 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Nubius, I've heard it many times and even some people on here confirmed it.
that doesn't confirm crap. I've never heard of that nor have I heard people on here say that...sounds like a load of bull to me.....it'd be pretty stupid for a company to say a thermal paste ruins your RMA...especially since these CPUs have heatspreaders on them so there is no real chance of the stuff 'shorting' the resistors that are near the die on XP's...

also like I said it's easily cleanable
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 05:01 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i put AS5 on my GPU and returned it and it still came back lol. so AS5 doesnt void it.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 05:22 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

If AS5 voids the warenty then me touching my motherboard voids its warenty. rofl, you think they really look for AS5 on the CPU?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 05:37 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

looks like stock thermal grease to me lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 07:58 PM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

In any case, I'm gonna e-mail AMD Support and ask em.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 08:30 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

SEE?! I told you!

I know I said I'd e-mail them, but I just went to their forums.

Quote:
Metallic pastes, like AS5, do void your AMD processor warranty. Use the Ceramique ...
Link to thread.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.