1st Time Builder Need Suggestions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2004, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Default 1st Time Builder Need Suggestions

Hey everyone. As the title suggests I'm a first time builder and I am needing some suggestions on a couple of issues with my yet-to-be-bought components.

I am mainly going to be using this system for gaming. I have a friend who is very knowledgeable with computers who made a couple of suggestions when I gave him my intended order. I would appreciate any input/suggestions.

Here is what I intend to buy at the moment:

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Winchester Core 90 nm)
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...103-498&DEPA=1
ASUS A8V Deluxe VIA K8T800 Pro Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...131-510&depa=1
ASPIRE X-Navigator ATX Mid-Tower Case
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-095&depa=1
WD Raptor 74 GB 10,000 RPM SATA HD (thats plenty enough storage for me)
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...144-160&DEPA=1
ATI Radeon X800 XT
Sony Internal 16X DVD+/-RW
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...131-239&DEPA=1
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-164&depa=0
Corsair Value Select Dual Channel DDR PC-3200 1 GB (512x2)

Now I have a couple of questions.
1. Do you suggest I go with the 90 nm Winchester core on the processor or with the 130 nm Newcastle core?
2. Is the ram I chose OK? I certainly want Dual Channel. I am thinking about getting 2 Gigs....would that make a noticable change in performance?
3. My friend suggested this mother board...
Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939 NVIDIA NForce 3 ULTRA
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...128-263&depa=1

Which mobo would you recommend? The ASUS one I had picked out or the Gigabyte one?

If there are any other suggestions for anything please feel free to comment.

And last but not least....is everything compatible?

I apologize for such a long post, but I truely appreciate any feedback.
__________________

newbie_builder is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 04:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would get the 130nm core. You need to flash your BIOS with most mobo's to support the 90nm.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

www.xoxide.com has that case for only 99 bucks dude.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the case suggestion, but it appears that website is selling that case without the power supply.

Anyways, thanks for the suggestions.....

Anyone have any opinions as to which mobo and memory I should get?
newbie_builder is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

1. I would go with the 130 mm. I also heard it would be more stable.
2.Going 2 gigs would give significant performance and will help you in the long run. But valuerams?? hm... not so sure. The difference between XMS and valuerams are marginal but are high quality and if you're going to overclock , i would highly recommend XMS. If you don't really care and trying to lessen the money, then it's okay to go with valueram because it wouldn't be that much of a difference unless you overclock.
3. I would go with the gagbyte ones. Asus is having a problem with making mobos supporing 939 cpus so i wouldn't be confident on them.

ALso, definitely go for Nvidia 6800 GTs, and make sure you get Evga 6800 GTs. Well worth the money.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 05:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the suggestions. I'm not going to be overclocking the ram. I looked at the XMS series, but I wasn't sure if any of them were dual channel?
Do you know of any specific model numbers of XMS that are? (which I'm sure they make them)
newbie_builder is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 07:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Im in the middle of creating my own 3500 Athlon beast. The motherboard i got is an Abit AV8-3rd Eye Via K8T800 Pro. This motherbaord is a great one to go with. Will cost you 140$. This type of CPU is gonna run pretty hot.

If your not one of those picky people that cant stand loud CPU fans. Then dont bother looking into this CPU fan. The very best socket 939 CPU fan is the Vantec Tornado. Cost about 18$ with tax and shipping, very noisy fan. But your gonna really need a good CPU fan/heatsink for an 3500. Im a big fan of Thermaltake Cases. That Case you have anit the very best. I like Full Towers personally. Heres the Thermaltake site take a look.

http://www.thermaltake.com/xaserCase/main.htm
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 10:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
I'm not going to be overclocking the ram. I looked at the XMS series, but I wasn't sure if any of them were dual channel?
This happens to all people who aren't familiar in to ram. Don't let the "dual channel" thing get you in your head. In order to be set in dual channel ram, it doesn't need to be rams made specificially for dual channel ram. It just has to be two identical rams.

What i'm saying is that you can just buy two 512 mb sticks of ram and that would be dual channel. Doesn't have to say it is or anything like that. Just has to be "TWO IDENTICAL RAMS" if it isn't it won't workout.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 07:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
Im in the middle of creating my own 3500 Athlon beast. The motherboard i got is an Abit AV8-3rd Eye Via K8T800 Pro. This motherbaord is a great one to go with. Will cost you 140$. This type of CPU is gonna run pretty hot.

If your not one of those picky people that cant stand loud CPU fans. Then dont bother looking into this CPU fan. The very best socket 939 CPU fan is the Vantec Tornado. Cost about 18$ with tax and shipping, very noisy fan. But your gonna really need a good CPU fan/heatsink for an 3500. Im a big fan of Thermaltake Cases. That Case you have anit the very best. I like Full Towers personally. Heres the Thermaltake site take a look.

http://www.thermaltake.com/xaserCase/main.htm
Im taking you havnt built it yet? Im interested to hear the problems with the Bios, many people have complained about flashing but not posted significant details. Wanted to buy this board for a while but scepticle...
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 09:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well thats the best Abit 939 board.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.