1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2008, 09:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

You can disable speedstep with the processor at stock. When I ran 3dmark 03 on my laptop it ran the entire test with the cpu underclocked to 800mhz from its stock 1.8ghz because of Cool and Quiet (AMD version of speedstep) which caused it to get an extremely low score. Its possible the same thing happened to you.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 11:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

That was probably due to the powerscheme of the laptop, especially as you said the whole test.

You really should look at the 2 gpu and the cpu test to see whats happening. It will show you the break downs.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 11:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

Now that i have the full version of 3dmark06 i ran a cpu test trying to get stable at 4ghz, the q6600 cpu test alone scores 6000. So a full test at stock settings i would imagine you should be hitting at bare minimum 3000 on just the cpu. Your system should be pulling in around 8000 i would think.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 11:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

Geez that's pretty low. I score around 6000 and I have a AMD 4200 @ 2.4ghz with a 7950gt.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 12:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

womp womp..... made a booboo
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 10:11 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

i thought the whole point of speedstep was for power saving reasons. doesn't it just lower your multiplier from like 9 to 6? and then it supposed to raise it back up the second the cpu is under load? i guess i will disable it and run 3dmark06 again to see if it's any better? also, could my core temps have anything to do with it? my core's are idling at an average of around 37-41.
cinaibur is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 10:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinaibur View Post
i thought the whole point of speedstep was for power saving reasons. doesn't it just lower your multiplier from like 9 to 6? and then it supposed to raise it back up the second the cpu is under load? i guess i will disable it and run 3dmark06 again to see if it's any better? also, could my core temps have anything to do with it? my core's are idling at an average of around 37-41.
Thats exactly what it does. It shouldnt affect your scores at all. I have speed step on and still hit 21554
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 10:21 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

He lies... he just doesn't want people stealing his top score!!!!

J/k
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 10:32 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

It'll be even higher once someone finds a way to voltmod the 4870 so i can get stable past 825 core. Also, i'm going to rerun this weekend on XP, that should bump me over 22k.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 10:56 AM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 1st 3dMark06 Score... where to go from here.

Do you think they are bottlenecked by your quad at all?
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3dmark06 score BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-10-2008 11:13 PM
is 10621 a low 3dmark06 score? taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 18 01-21-2008 03:43 PM
3dmark06 score too low? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 5 12-30-2007 08:52 PM
can people post their cpumark score from 3dmark06? Sirius_GTO New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-15-2007 09:24 AM
3dmark06 score funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 17 06-28-2007 11:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.