1M SuperPi sub 10 seconds! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2006, 09:18 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
How do these guys get there hands on these babies....work for the company I'm assuming?
that's what I want to know.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 09:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
that's what I want to know.
They are actually connected to the evil pengiuns organization, which is plotting to take over the world one day, so they made contacts in intel to get leaks of their cpu's!

lol, just kidding

but its probably half true, those people just have connections with intels [possibly one of them is a friend of an engineer or something] and they get the engineers samples..... as simple as that O.o;

-Jo
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
i'm not a fan of superpi i think its meaningless
It's definitely not meaningless. It's a good standardized "test" that people can use to see how quick their computer is. Using superpi to 1M (one million digits of pi calculated), everyone can then stack their scores against other people.

To the average user, yes Superpi is meaningless, but to overclockers who want to say "i have the fastest computer," it's very useful. Some would say essential.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Uhh.. That's not a quad-core Kentsfield, its a Conroe Core 2 Extreme X6800...

Either way, crazy fast.
it is a quad core kentsfield, if u check the previous thread made about coolaler i think in off topic or high end pcs, he shows off his quad core kentsfield. its just that CPU-Z doesnt recognize it or something like that.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 12:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
it is a quad core kentsfield, if u check the previous thread made about coolaler i think in off topic or high end pcs, he shows off his quad core kentsfield. its just that CPU-Z doesnt recognize it or something like that.
No, its a Conroe, stated right in the specs:

Quote:
CPU ¬ĀFIntel Core 2 Duo Conroe X6800 4mb cache BOX
Coolaler does have a Kentsfield, but that is not what he used for this run.

Also, if you look at CPU-z, it does not read the name of the CPU correctly, but it will show the code name correctly as "Kentsfield." In the WR run above, it also clearly shows the code name as Conroe.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 12:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

oh then i mixed them up sorry guys, but thats even more amazing a dual core is sub 10 seconds, not a quad core. wow.
john3 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 12:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

SuperPi only runs off one core anyway, so having 4 cores would be pointless, in superpi.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 01:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
wow... that took a while. i thought the current conroes would manage it... clearly not.
It DID.

John3 needs to edit the first post to be correct and not said quad-core Kentsfield.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.