1gb fast ram, 1.5gb slow ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2007, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default 1gb fast ram, 1.5gb slow ram?

Another question on ram, Which would be better for games and which would be better for everyday use (fireworks, dreamweaver, internet surfing):

2x512 Patriot Extreme performance @ Cas Latency 4, 450Mhz

3x512 Patriot Extreme + AmpX ram @ Cas latency 4, 350Mhz

The Ampx won't overclock as much as I'd like...

Anybody have any tips for overclocking ram while we're at it?

Timings for both seem to be 4-5-5-13-18 (whenever I try to manually set my ram timings I get no boot, both are at 2T aswell)
__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 1gb fast ram, 1.5gb slow ram?

Far as I know, dual channel mode only works when you have an even number of RAM sticks in.

So, having three, that could cause the slow down..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: 1gb fast ram, 1.5gb slow ram?

Can I just borrow this thread to ask a related question?

For a PC im building for my parents using old parts would it be better to have 2 x 256mb dual channel or 3 x 256mb not dual channel?

I have these two sticks of 256mb RAM of the same type but another 256mb of a different type (its all DDR though). My parents mainly internet browse and watch videos online.

Im thinking of going for 3 x 256mb. Amount > speed.
westy159 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 1gb fast ram, 1.5gb slow ram?

They won't notice it either way.

Only time it really comes into play is on high performence/gamming machines.
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Slow Down, Fast Up jebathan Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 11-24-2007 10:49 PM
Is it better to run 1 2gb of DDR2 ram or 2 1gb ? bey0nd New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-05-2007 02:05 AM
1.5gb vs 2gb ram dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-21-2007 05:03 PM
Fast performance during game, slow after. krazy_taco Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 03-28-2007 12:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.