1950 or 1900?>!>!>? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 04:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to pullyalater
Default 1950 or 1900?>!>!>?

well im thinking of waiting for the 1950 crossfire card to come out and then possibly sell my 1900xtx, or crossfire em and run at xtx speeds. OR to just get a cheaper 1900crossfire and oc it a little to the xtx speeds. (the new crossfire specs are amazing)

im looking at a month before i can get my memory(mushkin pc4000) and the video card, but it wont be available till then anyways.

please dont make this a nvidia/ati war thread, all i want is some advice. I am not biased, i just look at the numbers... same thing with procs. its all preference.

anyway what do ya'll think?!
__________________

__________________
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2...beatz/sig2.gif

Asus x1900xtx / Zalman 900cu
ABIT Crossfire 3200 mobo
AMD 939 fx-62 @2.8Ghz / Zalman CNPS9500
TeamGroup DDR500 3-3-2-8 (awesome RAM)
150 GB WD Raptor HD
Mushkin 650W PSU
Plextor SATA DVD burner
Thermaltake Soprano case... will change soon. =)
pullyalater is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 04:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

im not sure its worth buying the new card to run it at xtx speeds
just sell the xtx and save up to buy 2 1950s and do it properly if your that hung up on the crossfire
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 04:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to pullyalater
Default

yea then im looking at alot longer to get the extra 500 for the 1950xtx, but i do agree that that would be an good way to go about it, just very pricey.
__________________
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2...beatz/sig2.gif

Asus x1900xtx / Zalman 900cu
ABIT Crossfire 3200 mobo
AMD 939 fx-62 @2.8Ghz / Zalman CNPS9500
TeamGroup DDR500 3-3-2-8 (awesome RAM)
150 GB WD Raptor HD
Mushkin 650W PSU
Plextor SATA DVD burner
Thermaltake Soprano case... will change soon. =)
pullyalater is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 04:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

yeah
but if ure going to buy an expensive card like that to put it back to slower speeds then your better off just buying a x1900xtx (another 1 i mean) and use that
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 05:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

wow, that is going to be quite some computer.

how much faster is the 1950 going to be? can't you just OC 1900s to 1950 speeds? it would be alot more money to go for a full 1950 setup...
joshd is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 06:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

no 1900's will not reach 2000 mhz memory....

i say you get the x1950 crossfire card and crossfire it with the x1900xtx for a lil bit.. then when you get more money, sell off your xtx and get another x1950
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 10:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

well wouldnt the x1950 just downlock itself to the x1900xtx that way.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 12:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to pullyalater
Default

yes but then i can oc the xtx to the 1950 speeds, well not the mem of course but the core.
and i cannot buy another 1900xtx and use it bc the PCIe bus isnt large enough to handle 2 crossfire cards without that cable dongle. =/
it'll be nice when they get that dongle to either be internal or completely do away with it...
__________________

__________________
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b2...beatz/sig2.gif

Asus x1900xtx / Zalman 900cu
ABIT Crossfire 3200 mobo
AMD 939 fx-62 @2.8Ghz / Zalman CNPS9500
TeamGroup DDR500 3-3-2-8 (awesome RAM)
150 GB WD Raptor HD
Mushkin 650W PSU
Plextor SATA DVD burner
Thermaltake Soprano case... will change soon. =)
pullyalater is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.