15,000 RPM Hard Drives - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2004, 07:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Someone gave me a 9gig 15,000 rpm scsi and i love it, just run windows on it.

It can bve expensive but there is a performance increase.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 07:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alex81388
Someone gave me a 9gig 15,000 rpm scsi and i love it, just run windows on it.

It can bve expensive but there is a performance increase.
9GB? A lil' small don't you think?
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 08:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

It's better to run the OS on a smaller faster drive.. You should have a secondary hard drive for your data. This way if the OS goes down, you still have all your files.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 08:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
I assume with a 10,000 RPM drive deleting files would go much quicker too,
I'm pretty sure windows doesn't "delete" the file when you delete it, it just removes its signature or whatever so it doesn't see it, and if need be will write over it when the time comes. Which is why deleted files can be recovered.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 08:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ChaosBlizzard
It's better to run the OS on a smaller faster drive.. You should have a secondary hard drive for your data. This way if the OS goes down, you still have all your files.
never ran on 2*HD b4...i'd want RAID or faster if i did that. also never had a HD crash on me b4...even if it did i don't have anything on my PC worth crying over lol. i mean an 80GB 10,000RPM is just as fast as a 10GB 10,000RPM drive right? i dont see how the 10GB is better (besides your OS crash theory)?
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 08:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

No, if the drive is smaller, generally the seek time is better...

I currently have a RAID 0 setup. The system's sustained throughput is 88MB/s.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 09:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

my computer just sits in the HD test...

in the other one though it doesn't tell me MB throughput, just a #...i'll try it again lol.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 11:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

You should use HDTach:
http://www.simplisoftware.com/Public...request=HdTach

It's very good for testing sustained througput.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 07:24 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ChaosBlizzard
It's better to run the OS on a smaller faster drive.. You should have a secondary hard drive for your data. This way if the OS goes down, you still have all your files.
Yeah i got a 40g Raptor with everythign else, but windows runs like a dream on the SCSI.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 05:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

10k hd will give you all around quicker performance on many things. most will only use them if they are anal about everything running top notch. and for those guys that are runnin 15k hd's...yeehaa.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.