1.5v safe? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2007, 02:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default 1.5v safe?

I'm on the cusp of 1.5v trying to get my X2 Brisbane stable at 2.91, with the stock cooler (I like to be dangerous) ..is this too much for stock cooling? For the chip? (I know they've gotten higher, but this one doesn't seem to like anything over 2.9)
__________________

__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 1.5v safe?

1.5v is perfectly fine, but if you have stock cooling I would imagine temps are out of control.

Get a better cooler on there...
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 02:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: 1.5v safe?

voltage, if its too high can damage the cpu, but just watch your temps and make sure everything is stable before you move on.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there anyway to disable Safe mode? Plus need help with something else Oh noes Microsoft Windows and Software 12 11-27-2007 08:38 PM
My Safe (Protector Suite) won't work anymore Shade 20x6 Laptops and Notebooks 2 08-24-2007 09:44 AM
Safe mode and Novell vpx_rodder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-15-2007 09:25 AM
XP Pro keeps rebooting to the choose a startup type screen? safe mode.... brrymnvette Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-01-2007 12:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.