1.55v++ E8400 - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2008, 04:22 PM   #41 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
I honestly don't see why the whole "more cores" thing is making such a craze.

It just logically doesn't make any sense to me how splitting the already halved cpu into another half. Does it honestly give you that much more performance?
u have your 2 cores running yoru game and a thrid core running, windows, and back round aps, so basicallyu its less load on the cpu and still faster then duel core. u have to remember now that games are duel core optimized that the game is using 2 cores, and ontop of that there are window aps in teh back round, when there is 4 core optimization in games il probably get either a 6 core or 8 core chip.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 05:05 PM   #42 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

naw man, they are going to reinvent single cores before it gets to 6 cores and we all will be playing on Pentium DD's.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 06:30 PM   #43 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

sounds like a bra size " Pentium DD's "
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 08:01 PM   #44 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
naw man, they are going to reinvent single cores before it gets to 6 cores and we all will be playing on Pentium DD's.
there is going to be 8 core penryns aparently, and im sure theyl make something like a 6 core, im sure amd will atleast lol.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 08:05 PM   #45 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
there is going to be 8 core penryns aparently, and im sure theyl make something like a 6 core, im sure amd will atleast lol.
and the amd will be a TRUE 6 core. for sure
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 08:38 PM   #46 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

no itl be a 8 core ship with 2 cores diabled like the try core lol.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-04-2008, 08:46 PM   #47 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
sounds like a bra size " Pentium DD's "
Thats wat i was going for
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 06:15 PM   #48 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

How is that less load on the cpu?
If your cpu is processing 100% then splitting it up will only make it be 100% across all 4 cores. You still are processing the same amount of data. Maybe having more cores just helps the processor better utilize its processing power.

Your computer is running 50 processes on average. So the whole "more cores better multitasking" still makes even less sense.

I guess I'll never figure out why or how they work, but I'll just accept it and let the fps talk for themselves
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 06:55 PM   #49 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

if you have all 4 cores at 100%. Then you've got some intense programs running. I'm trying to understand your post. Were you trying to say if your dual core cpu is processing 100% then having a quad core processing that information that it would still be at 100%???
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 08:16 PM   #50 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 1.55v++ E8400

usually if a cpu is 100% load it means its not keepign up wit hall teh tasks asigned to it so if you have 4 cores at 25% it will be much faster.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ok e8400, what motherboard? harnar123 New Systems | Building and Buying 28 02-28-2008 08:55 PM
new pc is up! temp problems e8400 braz New Systems | Building and Buying 9 02-22-2008 02:38 AM
Best Motherboard For E8400? alexsabree Overclocking and Modding 68 02-19-2008 10:14 PM
E8400 vs Q6600? gl600 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-29-2008 04:29 PM
asus p5e and e8400 no post no video, fans spinning heartofalion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-26-2008 08:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.