1:1 ratio -- what do they mean? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2005, 09:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default 1:1 ratio -- what do they mean?

Im just wondering what the ratio in overclocking means?
__________________

__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

It is the ratio between the FSB speed and the RAM fequency.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 01:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

ratio just means how much your ram will overclock to your cpu or vise versa. 1:1 is always the best because it runs your ram and cpu at the same frequency which has always proven to give the best performance, but if you have ram that wont clock as high as your cpu, you can change the ratio to like 5:4 or something to take the stress off the ram and let it clock your cpu, but of course then you lose the speed of your ram which would give slower performance then a 1:1 ratio. thats the best way i can explain it for yea.
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 02:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

i wonder what's the difference between 1:1 and 6:6. I remember reading from somewhere that 6:6 is better for high fsb overclocking?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 09:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 77
Default

Umm. . . last time I checked 1:1 is the same thing as 6:6, isn't it? Or am I just a complete idiot.
__________________
3200+ Venice @ 2.7
Patriot 1GB (2 x 512MB) @ DDR490 3-4-3-8
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D
eVGA Geforce 6800GT @ 450/1.17
Antec TruePower 2.0 TRUECONTROL II-550w
rcr9521 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 01:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

_OvErClOcKeD_, I think I know what your saying, but like I said, it runs 1:1 with the FSB, not the CPU. The CPU frequency runs much higher than the RAM frequency.

Quote:
i wonder what's the difference between 1:1 and 6:6. I remember reading from somewhere that 6:6 is better for high fsb overclocking?
That doesn't make any sense at all

BTW, from what I have read many times now, 1:1 isn't very important on the AMD side of things. It appears very little if no performance loss is incured while running a divider with and AMD system, assuming, your RAM isn't being underclocked as a result. 1:1 is still emphasized on the Intel side, which should be used if at all possible.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 02:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Default

i have asus an8 sli premium. there is no option to change ratio
__________________
:D
salami1212 is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 07:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

1:1 doesn't mean ANYTHING AT ALL as far as A64 systems are concerned. Know that, and never differ.

The reason is that, unlike Intel systems, in A64 systems, there is no FSB. There is the HTT. If there was a FSB, then you would have to run the FSB/MEM ratio at 1:1 because if you didn't, there would be a lag in the communication times between the 2. But because there is no FSB in A64 systems, and because the HTT is not an actual bus (its an artificial clock used to get the CPU Speed) there isn't even any such thing as a 1:1 divider in A64. You do not benefit from running 1:1 against any other ratio. Or you could think of it as, you don't lose any performance from running away from 1:1 ratio.

The only reason you would have to run 1:1 is if you have memory that can support higher clock speeds, and you want it to run faster so you get more bandwidth. But if you memory doesn't OC that far (Corsair ValueSelect) then you can set the divider to 6:5 or 3:2. They will run your memory at a slower speed so you can overclock your CPU farther.

Thats all you should need to know on that topic. I started 2 HUGE threads on the topic on both XtremeSystems and OC Forums, and the conclusion was the same on both.
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 08:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
That doesn't make any sense at all
well it kind of does On my XP-M system I could choose from 1:1, 2:2, 3:3, 4:4, 5:5, and 6:6 with various ratios inbetween each

I had it on 6:6 for the hell of it, but don't ask me why they included all ratios which are basically 1:1
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 08:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

For Socket A AMD's 1:1 is the ONLY option for overclockers performance wise. Running any other kind of ratio will lose you performance.

I can choose from 3:3, 4:4, 5:5, and 6:6 on my board. 6:6 is the best for w/e reason, I think it just is the fastest when it comes to dealing with RAM and FSB compared to 3:3 or something.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.