Dual booting

Status
Not open for further replies.

snypercore

Daemon Poster
ok so im new to dual booting so i have a few Q's before i go ahead and do it.

firstly id liek to say abit abotu my setup i have

1 - 30GB HDD which is my master drive and is home of my OS (winXPpro)

1 - 238GB HDD which is my slave drive being used for backup and storage only.
this drive has 3 partitions like so:

1x 99.9GB - used for media back up
1x 93.8GB - used for apps and games backup
1x 39.0GB - which i want to use for DUAL BOOTING (to test out some custom slipstreams of mine)

my 1st question is:

1.even though my new OS location will be the 39GB partition once the OS is installed will i still be able to use the other partitions as normal as they are on the same drive?

2. are there any chanegd i nede to make in the BIOS or to my jumpers as i want it to boot with a list of my OS's and i select whcih OS to boot then it boots?

3. do i NEED any 3rd party software to dual boot? if so any recomendations?

many thanks

well the way i do it is to use two seperate hard drives like you do and i just change the boot order in bios to the drive i want to boot to......i know there is programs to make it an option in bios but it modifies your master boot record and then if u decide to take a certain installation off your boot up is still modified.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, i think

I use a dual boot of Windows xp pro and fedora linux worked fine on two partitions could acess the data aslong as it was in a readable format for both Os's and linux was installed on 5gb partition of 35gb hdd there are plenty of third-party bootloaders which are easy to use and when you remove the extra Os some have options to reset to original boot-up record or you can use a windows recovery cd and just reinstall the boot system.

Matt

get partition magic. it wil hide one xp while you install another.