Error connecting to domain

Status
Not open for further replies.
Warez,

Please note that I am an automation engineer for Windows 2k and XP deployments and that I have been supporting enterprise networks for the last 7 years, so may be what I know doesn't apply to your realm of expertise, but I do know what I'm talking about.

In Windows 2003 domains, the machine as well as users all maintain an authenticated state to the domain. This allows for multiple layers of security that will allow them to either be allow from the machine and the user, but not singularily. I.E, you can't take a machine that isn't part of the domain and hope to log onto the domain with your network account. The machine has to be part of the domain to do that. same goes for an account. You can't attempt to logon to a machine without an account, and you can't use a network account to logon to a machine that you are not conected to network and domain with.

anyway, if you setup a domain, the default behavior of that domain is ussually tailored to a security requirement you or a security minded person defines. Let's take ours for example.
in our network, if a machine is offline for 60 days and attemps to reconnect to the network, the machine will not be allowed on, cause we expired the machine account. This is a security step to prevent machines that have not gotten updates from antivirus or Windows update from coming back in and infecting the rest of the network.
anyway, from what I was getting from the poster, what he has done, was capture and image of this machine from a few weeks ago. No sysprep involved or anything, just a straight backup fo this machine. His intention was to use that image to restore the same machine back to a working state from several weeks previous. This is done a lot, and oftern, by here is the problem.