So I'm gonna switch to Intel...please enlighten me

Status
Not open for further replies.

JMan551

Beta member
Alright, let me give you some background...This is gonna be my first computer build. I've been running a refurbished Netvista for the past 6-7 years, so this should be very exciting!

I was all set on building an AMD machine...
AMD x2
Asus M2R32-MVP
Seagate 320GB
OCZ Dual Channel DDR2 CrossFire Certified Memory
OCZ GameXStream 700-Watt Power Supply
Aspire X-Cruiser
and then top it all off with a high end graphics card (maybe when the x1950xtx comes down a hair in price)

Now, after reading up some more, I think i have changed my mind and will go with the Core2Duo E6600! But I spent so long trying to find all of the right components I wanted to go with the AMD set up, and I'm very much a noob...so I'm having trouble finding comparable components for the C2D setup. I want a good gaming computer, and I will probably give a hand at overclocking just for fun. I play a lot of Flight Simulator, and the new Flight SImulator X is extremly demanding. I also don't want to pay for something that is way more then i'll ever use (ie a $300 motherboard will probably have more whistles then i'll ever blow on it).

That being said...i think that RAM i've picked is probably not the best bet for me, and I like that powersupply, but I'm not sure it is enough Amps to run ATI (website says 30amps is ideal). I really wanna run crossfire at some point, and thats where i bottlenecked on finding a mobo! I don't have a problem spending a little more for good, 'top tier' products...i'd like to stay around the $1500 range.

I know this was long, but ANY help would be great...thanks in advance for helping out a newbie!

JER

e6600 easily. Switch the x1950xtx to an nVidia 8800GTS too. OCZ is a good solid company for RAM but you might want to check out g.skill. They have killer OC abilities.