Help Build New Comp

Status
Not open for further replies.

lasthero

Beta member
Hey all,

First time on these forums, and it seems like you're all very knowledgeable. Im a relative noob when it comes to this stuff, but I was recently thinking of building my own comp for the first time. Was basically wondering if you guys could give me some pointers and perhaps think of a rig for me.

This comp will be mainly used for gaming and basically only thing that I do know for sure and have my eyes set on a vid card and its the 8800 GTS. My budget for this comp is around $2000 Canadian and I do need a monitor. Basically first time building so including even the smallest things that i need that normally your ethusiast wouldnt even bother mentioning would be good.

Probably would end up getting all the parts either from ncix.com or canadacomputers.com. On a side note I probably will end up getting this comp around mid December to late December so maybe prices for some parts will hopefully go down in price a bit :p.

Thanks for all the help!

well for right now a good build would include:

CPU:core 2 duo e6600
Graphics: 8800gts
motherboard: Asus DS3 I think (LGA775
RAM: 2gb ddr2, not sure what breand or model you want.
PSU: antec or ocz 600watt
harddrive: 320gig sata2
case: full tower= thermaltek Armor Mid Tower= too many LOL
ROM drive: cd reader/ burner and dvd burner (2 drives
Monitor: 20in. widescreen with a ~5ms response and at least 800:1 contrast ratio

hrm okay heres what I got then

CPU: E6600 $369.99
GPU: 8800 GTS $629.99
Motherboard: I couldnt find the Asus DS3?? But I did notice there is a Gigabyte DS3 and after looking it over I think this was the one you were talking about. $164.99
Ram: Kingston DDR2-667 2 gigs $279.99
PSU: SilverStone SST-ST65ZF 650W nVidia Certified SLI PSU
$149.99
DVD: LG GSA-H10N 16X 10x DL+R 6X DL-R 12X DVD-Ram Super-Multi Internal DVD Writer $34.99
Case: Still no idea what case to get here