Why are Dell's so bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alex Henkel

Baseband Member
Hello all---
I am a newb, but I can't figure this out:

What is so bad about Dell... I'm not defending them, just wondering where they go wrong... And if it's just the anti-establishment movement, then just tell me that.

Here are the components I can get... and their prices on newegg/tiger direct

AMD 64 X2 4600+ AM2 socket - $266
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103751

2GB DDR2 memory 533 Mhz - $209
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2571828&CatId=2364

ATI Radeon X1300 Pro 256 MB - $119
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1892409&CatId=1560

250 GB SATA HD (7200 RPM) - $78
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822144701

Motherboard - $40 - because I know Dell uses cheap ones.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813130050R

That totals $672

Add at least another $400 for a 19" LCD, Keyboard, Mouse, Windows Media Center, etc...

That is $1072.

If I add a TV tuner to that setup at Dell my cost is $1229.

I am semi-capable, and could probably struggle through a build, but why bother, when I can get it built and shipped with TAX for $1300?? I don't game, so maybe that is messing with my perception here...

So will someone explain to me why Dell = Devil?

Hope I don't get my account deleted for this....

you won't get banned... Dell uses cheap parts at an over inflated price. Most of us who use systems on a daily basis want what we want... not what we are willing to settle for. I personally don't mine Dell laptops. decent systems for portability... desktops suck... again.. most of it boils down to what you want out of a system and how knowledgable you are about building and maintaining a system.