Stuck at 2.37GHz

Status
Not open for further replies.

bryanp0286

Baseband Member
So this is my first time messing around with overclocking... I saw a review where my processor got up to around 2.7GHz while still keeping the voltages at stock settings. Every time I up my FSB to equal 2.42GHz, the computer reboots itself after loading Windows. After the reboots it says the system has recovered from a serious error, so I send the report to Microsoft and it comes back saying it is a driver issue that caused Windows to crash. I have my voltage set to Auto, should I change it to 0.0 (no change in voltage)? I read something about changing the HTT to 4 instead of 5, but can't seem to find that in my BIOS??

Specs:
EPoX EP-9GF6100-M Socket 939 Motherboard
pqi POWER Series 512MB (2 x 256MB) PC3200 Dual Channel
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego, stock heatsink and fan with AS5
120mm intake fan, 80mm side fan w/ duct, 120mm exhaust fan
Windows XP Home Edition SP2

Lower the HTT multiplier, also lower the ram/cpu ratio if your ram's frequency is above it's rated amount. After finding the absolute max of your CPU, then slowly bring the ram back up.

Can't find anything that says HTT multiplyer, would it be any of these?

K8<->HT Speed 5x
NB-->SB HT Speed 4x
NB<--SB HT Speed 4x

And this is what my Advance BIOS screen looks like:

CPU Frequency 215
PCIE Clock 100mhz
AMD Cool n Quiet Disabled
CPU Ratio Control Disabled
CPU Voltage Auto
Chipset 1.2v
DIMM Auto
Memory Frequency Auto

bryanp0286 said:
Can't find anything that says HTT multiplyer, would it be any of these?

K8<->HT Speed 5x
NB-->SB HT Speed 4x
NB<--SB HT Speed 4x
Yes, it would. I don't know why it says NB, since the NB is built into the athlon 64s if I'm not mistaken. HTT on 939 cpus is default at 2000mhz. This figure is obtained by your FSB x LDT Multiplier x 2. So you have 200mhz(Stock FSB) x 5 (Stock multiplier) x 2 = 2000mhz