Problems Installing New HDD

Status
Not open for further replies.

dan246

Baseband Member
I just bought a Seagate Barracuda 320gb drive (ST3320620AS). I have an ASUS K8V SE Deluxe mobo and two SATA hard drives already in place, one 250gb and one 80gb. So the two original drives are taking up my two SATA connectors and I thought I could just hook the new barracuda up to the primary RAID SATA connector and call it good. (I've never done anything with arrays before.) That didn't work so I set up a stripe array using only that hard disc in an attempt to get it to work. Which, despite my flawless logic, didn't work...what a surprise. Windows won't recognize the disc and I don't really know where to go from here. Is it possible to have 3 SATA hard discs with my motherboard without setting up two in an array? Any advice would be awesome.

TIA,
Dan

disable the RAID controller. RAID 0 requires two equal sized disks at the very least and also requires that you format the disks as one, in other words you create the array so they are seen as one disk and format that "one" disk. you can't stripe a single disk. i don't have any specific knowledge of that board so i can't say much more.

i'm curious if when you say
Windows won't recognize the disc

you mean that it doesn't show up in "My Computer", that's because you need to format the drive. just go to control panel>administrative tools>computer management>disk management, find the diagram of the new disk to the right, it should say "unallocated" or something similar. right click on it and it should have an option like "partition", "new partition" or "partition wizard". that should guide you through partitioning and formatting it.

Yeah...poor choice of words on my part. I'm using DiscWizard which I snagged off the Seagate website. I've also tried running compmgmt.msc and using disc management. With DiscWizard I see this:

VIA SATA RAID Controller
[Drive 0] ST380817 As SCSI Disk Device
80020 MB