Building New Computer - Need Little Help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

imhiya

Baseband Member
ill tell you what ive decided with.

Cpu - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.40GHz 1066FSB
Motherboard - ASUS P5NSLI, nForce 570 SLI, DDR, Socket 775, Core 2 Duo

Questions:
1.But im not sure if the motherboard will be good enough also ive heard with new motherboards you have to buy a new hard drive?

2. What ram should i go for? ive decided im gonna get 1gb to start and get more later.

3. its my first time buidling a computer from SCRATCH, will i need to do anything else put places the parts in?

4. What fan should i get as the default fans dont tend to be very good.

very nice for first build so far, but there a few other things you will need.. ALSO what is your total budget?

ANOTHER NOTE: dont bother with SLI - unless you are running 2 7900s -, it is a waste of money. just buy a new 7900 GT or whatever the ATI equivilent is. It costs the same amount, but you can get a cheaper mobo.

1. the motherboard you chose would be the best chocie if not the only.. :p SLI is alright, but as I said, you can get equal results with a single 7900 vs 2 7600s or something like that. UNLESS you have the budget to get 2 7900s.... in which case i am jealous.

--As for the HDD question... yes it would be best to buy a new hard drive, one that supports SATA II. SATA is far faster than IDE, and the cables are far smaller, meaning alot less clutter in your new system.

2. G skill ram. make sure you get 2 512 sticks if you want to be able to take advantage of dual channel. dual channel ONLY works if you have 2 sticks. later on when you are ready to get another gig you can either buy two 1 gig sticks and sell the 512s, OR you can get 2 more of the EXACT same ram (and i do mean exact) so you have all 4 slots used up. personally i would sell the 512s once you are ready to upgrade and buy two 1 gig sticks, since then you still have 2 slots open....

3. Dont understand this question.