build issues--won't start

Status
Not open for further replies.

xerxes501

Beta member
I recently decided to build a PC. Though I'm not terribly knowledgable, I've had some experience (after living with computer techies) and thought I should be fine. But I've been stuck for two weeks, and haven't found the answers posted elsewhere, so here goes:

Basically, I can't get the computer to start up to BIOS. Or do anything, really, other than spin the fans (case fans, cpu, psu, and vga fans all working fine). It sounds like the HD is also spinning up, but I don't get anything on my monitor and no beeps.

I've got an NForce4MA motherboard with an AMD AM2 3800+ CPU. The motherboard has four DIMM2 slots in which I've tried two different Patriot 1gb (together and then singly) memory units in different slots. (Instructions say it shouldn't matter which one I use, but I've been trying anyway...) I have a Western Digital 250 gig SATA HDD attached to the motherboard using the SATA cable, and an nVidia GeForce 7300GT VGA.

The owner's manual for the motherboard says IDE1 must be connected to an HDD....but my HDD doesn't have an IDE connection, so I had IDE1 hooked up to an optical drive, and then to nothing. Could this be my problem? Or might it be that my monitor is not getting signal through the graphics card? I've checked all my connections many times, and I'm stuck. Help would be greatly appreciated; thanks in advance

1)what does your monitor do when you power on ?

2)if the video is not the problem, unplug everything(HDD,CDD,Take out all memory, take out vid car and use intergrated if you can,etc. till everything is unpluged but the cpu and fans, even unplug mouse and keyboard) sif if you can POST(power on self test) if you can and the computer goes to boot then plug in 1 item at a time till your error occurs. example if it boots with nothing put the cpu then put the keyboard in and try to post then the mouse, then the hard drive.