e6400 OC

Status
Not open for further replies.

ThirdLeft152

Daemon Poster
Im not new to OC, but im not an expert either. Im thinking my cpu is running a little to hot for what it should be. Idle it was around 38 C, right now i got it at 2.6ghz, but its idle'n around 46 C. Could it be my paste? does it go bad? becasue it is farely old.

You know what, I was thinking the exact same thing. My temps are the exact same almost. I think were fine. I even have a Zalman 9500 on mine and I overclocked to 3 ghz.

Yeah we probably are. Im just a little weary becasue i've been seeing what everyone elses is running at like 20s and so on.

I think i'll just buy some new as5 and see if that helps, if not invest in a new new cooler, and maybe a new case. My case use to run my 3200+ and 6800gt fairly hot at 45-48/60-70 C respectively.

Well, I have an AthlonXP 1800+, and my temps are 41ºC idle, 48ºC load. So unless, the E6600 has a worse manufacturing process, I think it can survive with those temps, even in the long run. What's your load temp, tho?

Load for me is nearing 60 C, idle around 50 C. I still need to get 3 more fans for my case though, maybe that will help.

ThirdLeft152 said:
load is somewhere around 40-42 C with no oc
load with oc is around 48-51 C

That sounds fairly good, I don't think you should worry (even with OC). It never hurts to get better ventilation.

To show you this, I made an experiment. I launched SpeedFan, and let the CPU temperature graph run for 5 mins. I then removed my side panel, and let it run for another 5 mins. This is what I got:

tempsup3.jpg

I have a back fan but not a side fan, so as you can see, removing the side panel improves airflow by a large margin.

EDIT: I'm not saying to remove your side panel! I'm saying to get more case fans, try to improve ventilation. It does make a large difference.

i have 1 top fan, 1 back fan, and 1 side fan, im not sure how many more i could get lol?