Complete My Gaming Rig

Status
Not open for further replies.
Very solid choice broshky. That would be perfect for your OS and games. And just purchase a 250gig or 320gig for your media files, which im assuming you have. Theirs no point in filling up your 150 with files that don't benefit from it.

Yeah, I'm still learning this computer stuff, I'm just trying to make what little sense I can of what I am buying.

Ha. Well I guess that's what were here for. Anymore questions, don't hesitate to ask.

It sounds as if you have some cash to spare if you're going to buying a $260 hard drive. If this is the case, then you could get 2x 74gig raptors and set them up in Raid-0.

I know i know, if one drive fails, then youll loose everything. You do run twice the risk of a drive failing, but I've never had a WD drive fail on me. And you could always run a RAID 0+1.

But two 74 gig raptors would be insanelyyyyyyyyyyyyy fast. Windows, apps,and games would load like it's nothing.

The 150 raptor is actually only $229 and even has a $30 mail in rebate to boot.

I'll be honest though, I'm hesitant to go RAID with my computer since this will be my first build and I have no clue what I'm doing!

Ohhhhh I see. That makes sense then. Don't worry about raid then. Stick with the 150, I'm sure it'll be more then enough. 230, that sounds like a really good deal.

If you had someone that has some experience building computers then id suggest setting up a RAID, their's really not much to it.

I take it you'll be assembling the computer yourself? Any help from anyone experienced? Whatever you do, make sure you ground yourself. Work on the computer on a table, if you can't get a anti static band, groud youreslf by having a hand on the case, and don't try and force parts in their slots.

Yeah I will be doing it myself. I'll read up on the tutorials a bit more before I begin.