Suggestions on RAM?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TMLewiss

Solid State Member
Well here is the PC I am building, the important items are linked to themselves on NewEgg:

2xeVGA Geforce 7600GT PCI Express
AMD 64 X2 4600+
Abit KN8 SLI Mobo
2x250GB 7200 RPM WD HDD
Sound Blaser Audigy 2 ZS Plantinum
Antec Truepower 2.0 550W SLI Ready PSU

Now the RAM is what I can't decide on. I have never really OCed anything and from what I here, when you get performence RAM, you have to set the timings yourself, so that kinda scares me. I mean I am spending a lot of money and I don't want to screw myself over. This is by far the first PC I have built but I would not say I am an expert at all. Also, do you have to have a special type of ram to SLI? I don't think so but I can't understand why some images of RAM have the SLI ready icon on them, so I want to know before I screw myself on that too lol. Here is a list of rams that I was looking at: NewEgg Compare

If you have any suggestions on any of the parts I would be glad to hear them, but mostly I just need to know about what RAM I should get, and if I do have to set the Timings or something myself, if that is hard or easy and would it be dangerous?

I think you should just get a 7950GT instead of SLI-ing two 7600GTs. And you can also go for the X2 4400+ and OC to save you some money. On RAM....OCZ and G.Skill are one of the top overclocking rams.

I dont want to OC though... to dangerous for a newbie like me. But here is a question. What would preform better overall. A 7950 or two 7600s? I mean overall, not just threading 1 app. If i had to do two graphic intensive programs at once.

So, if a 7950GT will outpreform 2x7600GTs, then what is the point of even having SLI on lower model cards? I honestly would have thought that two 7600s in SLI would outpreform 1 7950. Espicially when doing something like running 2xWoWs or 2xUT2004s