Toshiba laptop will NOT start! Fearing the worst..... :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hemogoblin

Solid State Member
Hey everyone, this is only my second post here in the forum (I believe?) and the last time, you guys were really helpful. But, it seems now that I am in serious trouble. I have a Toshiba Satellite laptop with 2.4GHz, 512 RAM, 40 GB HDD. Bought it about 3-4 years ago new for $+3K so it did cost a bundle, and although it IS outdated by today's standards, it does a great job for what I need it for. I'm a student and as such, anything is good enough ;)

The problem here is that a few months ago, the computer started to just shut off, right in the middle of using it. It would just literally go blank, shut off, no warning. Then, upon restart (if it did restart at all), if you didn't wait a few minutes, it wouldn't come back on. It became such a headache that I bought a cheap, refurbished comp for school and downloading, etc. and hadn't yet tried the laptop, until last night that is. It has a fresh copy of WinXP on it, and nothing else. When I try to turn it on, the fan runs, cycles even as time goes on, but the screen is completely blank, and the computer itself is making no noises. Not even the little icon on the front of the computer to show that it's busy, is lit. Just "dead" and I can't get it to start at all. Tried starting it all day and still nothing. I have to remove the battery too and just use the power adapter because in order to shut it off, I have to unplug the computer entirely. Also, I did try to hook it up to 2 different working monitor's and nothing. Any idea what may be happening? I am fearing the worst though and that this may spell the end for this beast.

That being said, IF it is a hardware issue, would it even be worth fixing? If not, can laptops be sold in this condition, or for parts? Is there anything in particular that I should keep or sell? Any help would be greatly appreciated :) Thanks

Cheers,
Steve