Install Windows XP, no floppy, no BIOS access

Status
Not open for further replies.

paulinnorway

Baseband Member
Hi,

A friend of mine wants me to do a clean re-install of Windows XP Home Edition. The problems is.....he has no floppy disk drive, and his BIOS is password protected (and he can't remember the password :rolleyes: ). Since I can't get into the BIOS, I can't change the boot order to boot from CD-ROM first.

Any ideas about how I can install Windows XP on his laptop? I'm not an expert at computers, so I'm hoping there is an easy(ish) solution;).

you can always do a CMOS clear with the jumpers on the motherboard.

locate the jumper that says CMOS - either search for it on the board or referance your manual.

when you find it, it should be labled what pins to put the jumper on to clear it.

do it, then put the jumper back to the original position.

this will clear the BIOS

Thanks for the reply CntdwnToExtn.

I found out that he has an external USB floppy disk drive. Does this help, or does it have to be an internal floppy drive?

I'm trying to avoid opening up the laptop if possible.....it makes me nervous:eek:

it a complicated matter. you would need partition magic also.

let me know if you are willing to do it.

you would have to partition your c drive into 2 partitions into 2 parts. then install xp on the second one. then go back and install it on the first one

EricB said:
it a complicated matter. you would need partition magic also.

let me know if you are willing to do it.

you would have to partition your c drive into 2 partitions into 2 parts. then install xp on the second one. then go back and install it on the first one
I'll consider that option aswell. Let me see if I understand what you are saying.......are you suggesting that I install Windows XP onto the 2nd partition, then reformat the first partition and reinstall Windows XP on the 1st partition. Then I could remove the 2nd partition, leaving me with the clean 1st partition.