Installed a CPU fan, now computer is crashing.

Status
Not open for further replies.

PJYelton

Baseband Member
Lately my computer has been acting up, although I'm not sure of the specific cause because I kind of did many modifications all at once, including installing a new video card, sound card, memory, as well as stupidly running registry editors. The computer crashed every once in awhile, and some programs ran kind of funny sporadically, but luckily I got most of it fixed. However the main problem was that the computer FELT a little hot when you touched the top of the casing near the back fan, and CD's often time felt a little too warm when taken out of the CDROM. Problem was, since I'm a complete computer newbie and this is my first real computer to muck with, I didn't know if I was being paranoid and wasn't sure if it was something to be worried about.

After I had a couple more problems with some programs not working properly, I decided to go out and get a fan hoping that it would help. I bought a CompUSA Mirrored Copper Heatsink, SKU#299253, took out the old fan, installed the new one. Well, the computer feels MUCH cooler, but all of a sudden now the computer freezes constantly, usually when the CPU percentage gets a little high like when playing a game or running two apps at once. Complete freeze, no keyboard or mouse functions, no BSOD either. The problem is I don't know if its because of the fan I just installed or if its a long term problem possibly from overheating that just now sprung up. Like I said, I'm a newbie to all of this, don't even know where to begin and really want to avoid formatting everything and starting over. I've run defrag, checkdisk, diskcleanup, AdAware, Norton, HiJack This, and SpySweeper, none of them fixed the problem.

I'm running an Athlon XP 1800+ and over the last couple of months have installed the following:
512 RAM
Radeon 9600XT
SoundBlaster 220