Core 2 Duo Overclocking Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey guys, just got my new HSF installed (arctic cooler) and now my temps dropped from roughly 42-idle, 53-load @ 3.2Ghz (8x400) with a vcore of 1.34 to 37-idle but unstable during torture test @ 3.4Gh (8x430) with a vcore of 1.45

i shooting for 3.6-3.8 on air (i think i've got about the best air cooling you can get) is that too high?

*the only reason for me to OC at this point is to be able to run my ram at it's highest and utilize it to it's full potential as it is where my system is being bottlenecked (or so i think).

would lowering the multiplier to 7x533mhz (3.7 Ghz) or 6x533mhz (3.2Ghz) help stability? how high can i safely set the vcore, how high should i let temps get?

I'm still new to OCing so any suggestions are more than welcome. Thanks.

@ Jordo: You have DDR2 800, so your max FSB would be 400 without overclocking the RAM. So I'm pretty sure a FSB of 533 with a lower multi still won't work, because you'd be pushing the RAM WAAAAAAAYYYYYYYY past its limits. You'd be lucky to get to a 430 FSB stably. 400x8 would be in the ballpark for the max overclock with your RAM, which stops you from going further.

Overclocking isn't really that hard to understand if you read...........something people seem to neglect nowadays. The RAM gets overclocked along with the CPU when the FSB is raised, and at some point, either the RAM or the CPU will reach its limit. In your case, the RAM is stopping you from going further. It looks like you will have to settle for 3.2 with the RAM you have, or get DDR2 1000, and continue on to a 500 FSB.

magouster said: