Need help with gaming computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

inefx

Beta member
Hello im new to building my computers. In fact this will be my first attempt at building one so right now im in the gathering info stage which is why im here.

I plan on playing games like Counterstrike: Source mostly but I would also like to play games that come out in the future reasonably well too. I get low fps in cs:s now and would like a smoother game experience. Other than games this will be for surfing and music.

Heres what Ive got so far:

Video Card - ATI x1900GT or nVidia 7900GS or would the 7950gt 512mb be worth the little extra money>?

Processor - Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 or 6300

Anyone have experience with any of that? Is that a good start? What more do I need to have a suitable gaming rig? Id like to keep this below ummm...1500? would that get the job done? im not looking for the next monster super gaming comp. just something i can play cs:s on very well and future games till dx10.

Im also interested in oc'ing once i get it built.
i would also like it to be vista ready.
thanks for any help

would the 7950gt 512mb be worth the little extra money>?

Yes (about $300). Either that, or a X1950XTX (about $420+).

The E6300 will be plenty.

Go with 2GB of RAM.

I'm not fluent with Intel compatible motherboards or DDR2 RAM (AMD 939 guy :D). Hopefully some of the new C2D fanboys will pick this up and run with it...

Thanks very much for your reply.

Yes I hope some people experienced with the C2D's will help me here. I really dont know what I'm looking at when I look for motherboards. I guess thats the basis for everything else and Im really scared Ill pick things that arent compatible.

Any help would be appreciated , thanks

Alright guys heres what ive come up with thus far. tell me if this is ok and everything will work.

CASE - COOLER MASTER Centurion 532 RC-532-SKN1 Black Aluminum bezel, SECC chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail