I suck, can't get my heat sink on.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alcohol

Baseband Member
This is my first time building a computer myself. I'm trying to mount a scythe infinity to an asus p5wdh. The mobo is mounted to my case's removable tray.

It's socket 775 obviously, so I lign up the holes and try to push the clip/pin thingys through and they don't want to go without waaay too much force. I'm scared of breaking my mobo if I push any harder...and the holes are definitely ligned up. At best, I get one clip in all the way, then try to get the clip at the opposite corner in and the first clip just pops right out, or as I was saying before I get scared to push any harder.

You guys got any tips or anything? This has been a real PITA for me. I got a nice *** c2d system sitting in my living room right now......in pieces. :mad:

alexsabree said:
lol...
First of all how does it connect.. can u give us a picture

Btw: almost all heatsinks/fans are a B***** to put on and off

PrimeCooler_Mega-7_3rd.jpg

I don't have a digi cam but my heatsink uses the same mounting mechanism. it makes it 2x as hard though because the scythe infinity is huge. i cut my thumb on hte **** thing too.

btw, i tried it with the heatsink that came with my 6600, and i couldn't get that on either (tried once), hence, i suck

seat the rods 1st then press the pins to lock . Take some measurements mayby your using the wrong fasteners.
I havent worked with the LGA yet sorry not much help

Yeah all these mounting systems suck, they've always sucked. You could build a better mounting system for 10 cents more, but they don't, because warrenties don't cover physical damage, so its a way for them to make money.

Are you sure your not suppose to have a backing plate with that heatsink?

Cappy said:
seat the rods 1st then press the pins to lock . Take some measurements mayby your using the wrong fasteners.
I havent worked with the LGA yet sorry not much help