Not booting my new machine

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hinks

Beta member
Hey all!

I've recently custom built myself a computer.

On completion of the build I connected everything, double checked everything was okay and powered it up.

The problem: Nothing happened, the power came on, the fans came on, the lights lit up, the DVD drive made a noise and all the cards appeared to be working okay.

BUT nothing appears on the monitor (which I have tested and is working). The only thing that appears is the No Signal message.

I have checked the RAM and changed the modules around but to no avail. :(

From what I've read I have seen that the PSU is a big culprit of cold boots but I'm really no expert and I'd like someone's advice.

The specs are:
AMD Athlon X2 4200+
DFI LanParty n4 Motherboard
1GB PC3200 RAM
GeForce 7900GT 256mb
Maxtor SATA 300GB
DVD-RW
PSU 230V (420W OUTPUT)

Thanks in advance, your help is much much appreciated!
;)

if you have another video card try that they usually suggest stripping down to the bare minimum and instal one componet at a time to try to find the culprit?
sorry cant help more
tom

I agree with tomc, sounds like the video card either isn't working or maybe not seated properly. Obviously the cables are good since you can connect the monitor to another pc and it works. Reseat the video card and see what happens.

there might of been a short circuit when u were building ur PC but this happens rarely when u dont ground urself before touching anything

check this;
1. pull out CMOS battery for couple minutes, then place it back in
2. if that doesnt work unplug everything lik HD, IDE drives, floppy,etc (keep the CPU,PS, and video card in) if theres a onboard video card use that
3. check if the heatsink has thermal past and also see if its touching the CPU ( i once kicked my old computer so hard that the heatsink fell off the mobo and the PC didnt POST )